Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    June 2017
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

Next up … bench and trellis

Posted by joeabbott on June 22, 2017

OK, I normally don’t post until I’m done with a project, but I’m finding I finish and yet fail to post. And then I don’t post for a while and suddenly slam out a bunch of disconnected posts.Well, my posts will be just as disconnected but let’s get some content out more regularly, OK?

imageI built a small platform off the side of my driveway where a couple trees died and now we want to build a trellis. I guess I should detail the deck/platform for a start.

The land around my driveway falls off quickly so I didn’t want to build a deck/platform that would either erode that land or cause forces that push against the thing I was putting in. I just don’t have a lot of earth to hold it in place. So, I wanted the deck/platform to be a “shelf” or “tray” to hold some gravel. It took a long time coming up with a plan I liked but I finally decided on this … the driveway would be level with the right-side and the raised part around the edges would help keep someone from stepping off. Additionally, the long legs both near the driveway and in back would be deep enough to keep it from moving. As we’ll see later, that worked a bit “too well”.

imageI built most of the entire thing out of 4×4 pressure treated timber that I used mortise and tenon joints to hold it together. I started by building what I called the “H” shapes … you’ll have to squint at the picture to the left but it’s one of the outside\end ‘H’ sections.

Ignore the clothing hanging on it … while I was installing them, it was hot as heck and I was using this one to dry my bandanas on!

The long, vertical timber to the right is the longest upright; then the two vertical timbers … you can see those in the mockup image above and to the right. The far vertical member is supported by a “tool” I build specially to allow me to set these H shapes up in my garage as I dry-fit them to ensure everything worked well.

And, just like the model, everything worked great!

2017-05-29 10.46.41I then dug the eight holes for the legs (the bottoms of the H shapes) to fit into. That sucked. Sorry for the slight vulgarity, Mom … but it was a nasty, nasty job. First, I designed these things with legs that were too long. They won’t move, but I could have gotten away with half as long, I’d guess. But, I’m not so smart and I would rather over-build than take a chance. So … a lot of digging.

Then, I was going through an area that was comprising the driveway bed. Super-compacted, LOTS of rocks, and some of the worst digging I’ve done on this property. And I’ve done my share. Brutish work that had me sore for a week. And, yes, I was using a manual post-hole digger.

Also, because I didn’t want to take away too much material, I was digging the smallest possible holes … so, just about 6-inches in diameter. I felt great about nesting a 3.5” post into that size hole but, as I found out, it gave me almost zero capacity to maneuver stuff around. And when I had to clear a stone from the hole, I was laying on my side with my arm completely in the hole, scraping around and trying to loosen the offending rock.

As I was putting all the H-shapes in, and then trying to get the vertical parts to nest into their mortises, I was hitting all sorts of problems getting tight fits. I couldn’t nudge things left and right or wiggle them about to get a good fit. Some parts would nest really well and then I’d run out of room getting another piece to fit into the web of timbers I’d created. it was a mess that frustrated and had me spitting.

In the end, I lived with a bunch of gaps but the concrete I poured around the posts locked everything solid as can be. Here are a few “action” shots:

2017-05-29 10.46.372017-05-29 10.40.032017-05-29 10.46.182017-05-29 13.55.312017-05-29 17.01.18

After letting the concrete in the above parts set, I laid down some 2×6 PT timber as a base, covered it with landscape fabric, and then piled in about 3” of crushed gravel. The result is a very nice, very solid surface on which to place the bench.

In my next post I’ll show you what it looks like now, and some of the pictures of the bench that I’m constructing. I have to hurry if I want this done by the time my out of town guests arrive … that’s a good motivating factor for getting it done!

Thanks for looking in!

Leave a Reply

 
