Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    June 2017
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

Stuff I built

Posted by joeabbott on June 21, 2017

Over the past couple years I’ve struggled when taking my bike places. In the early days I had a small, hatchback car … we bought the sort of bike carrier for it that hung off the back and attached with straps but that never fit well and seemed sketchy. When I got an SUV I ended up just placing the bike on its side in the back. If I was hauling both Suzy’s and my bike, you’d end up worrying about potential damage you were doing to the bikes.

So, with the purchase of my truck and and getting back into biking a bit, I wanted to build a rack.

Over the past few months I thought about various wooden racks I could build … thought through the shapes and sizes, but nothing seemed “just right”. And then I turned to the Internet! Sure enough, out on YouTube, I found someone had built a rack using PVC for around $25 … just the ticket.

I followed the instructions, used a modification someone in the comments suggested, and in an evening came up with a serviceable setup. It felt a bit flimsy but I hadn’t set the pieces at that time so I went ahead with gluing and nesting the parts together with a small mallet. And … tada:

WP_20170618_15_35_49_Pro

In the picture the white parts are the modification; for thin tires these really help hold a bike upright a lot better. They’re a bit of a nuisance as you need to lift the bike in and out of the rack (you can’t just wheel it forward into the slot) but they’re a lot more steady. I will note that, when traveling, I will be lashing the bikes down with nylon straps (both front and back), and in that configuration they’re rock solid and barely move.

Also, full credit goes to Suzy on the painting. In the pictures she hadn’t finished yet so it’ll be completely black when it’s all finished, but she did a really good job of changing the look from Big Box Rig Something Up look to a more respectable rack. Here are a couple other pics:

WP_20170618_15_34_45_Pro  WP_20170618_15_31_27_Pro

And, in the way of credit, here are the two sources I used for the instructions and seeing someone else put of of these together:

If you need a simple bike rack that works well either in the back of your truck or just for setting up in the garage, I highly recommend this project. It’s quick, cheap, and surprisingly solid.

Thanks for dropping in!

Leave a Reply

 
