Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    June 2017
    M T W T F S S
    « May    
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

Where’d I go last weekend? Good question!

Posted by joeabbott on June 19, 2017

I headed up to Mt. Dickerman.

Mt. Dickerman is a moderate hike on moderately good trials that ends in excellent views in a phenomenal area. It’s about 85 miles from my front door, making it about 20 miles from the property we own up in Granite Falls. As a matter of fact, you’d be hard pressed not to go through Granite Falls to get to the trailhead! That’s where I found myself going with my buddies Tim and Heath, two guys who are training with me to do the Snoqualmie-to-Steven’s Pass hike later this summer.

The Mt. Dickerman trail runs about 4 miles … one sign indicated 4.3 miles … and gains some 4000’ in elevation. Due to its location, from the top, you are given commanding views of mountains in all directions: Forgotten, Pugh, Glacier, Sloan, Columbia, and Big Four to name a few … unfortunately for us, low clouds kept most of the more distant peaks from us but what we could see made the hike worth it.

WP_20170617_12_10_54_ProWP_20170617_12_10_48_ProWP_20170617_10_39_01_Pro

It took 2.5-3 hours to get to the summit, with about a third of the going through moderate snow. The more icy, hard-packed slopes had me wishing I’d brought a boot with a firmer sole, but my Keen hikers treated me well on the trail. The best part about the outing is that, after it was over, I was a little sore if my leg muscles were rubbed but, for the most part, didn’t have any problems with stiffness and could easily get up and down the stairs. While that’s a pretty low bar to be proud about, it’s showing good progress and giving me hope that I’ll be ready for the summer hiking when it starts in earnest!

Thanks for looking in!

Leave a Reply

 
