Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    June 2017
    M T W T F S S
    « May    
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

Oops … that wasn’t supposed to happen

Posted by joeabbott on June 11, 2017

WP_20170611_17_50_46_Pro

So I’ve been trying to get into hiking shape for the season with the goal of hiking a ~70 mile trip later this fall. Other than the distance and a bit of up and down, it’s not a challenging outing; we plan on hiking the Pacific Crest Trail from Snoqualmie Pass to Steven’s Pass … Section K, in the parlance of section-hikers. To get ready, I’m doing weekend outings, a smattering of this and that. Last weekend it was Mt. Si, this weekend I biked about 25 miles uphill from Rattlesnake Ledge to Snoqualmie Pass. I came back, but that was downhill and a lot easier.

However, there was an oopsie that makes it hard to feel confident and proud of my abilities.

I was about 10 minutes out of the parking lot and came up behind a couple of hikers. As we were both on the right and wanting to pass, I made a quick juke to the left side … at exactly the same time there was a big dip in the trail! And so my tire hit the far side of the dip and I hit the trail. It was a glorious mess: my face, arm, and shoulder hit the gravel trail, I crumpled over the handle bars, and everything came to an abrupt stop.

Ouch.

Here are a few of the souvenirs I came away with:

WP_20170611_17_51_15_ProWP_20170611_17_51_41_Pro

I took a knock to the ribs that I’m going to keep an eye on but it’s not too bad right now. Suzy took a look and asked if I’d managed to get all the dirt out of my wounds … I’m not sure. But, it’s a bit tender now to dig into it … I’ll save that treat for before I go to bed.

I’m not terribly disappointed … but maybe a little. And certainly not interested in doing it again. So what am I going to do? Well, get back on the bike, improve my biking skills, and avoid face-smashing the trail again. Fortunately, I was wearing a helmet that took most of the damage. Tomorrow I’ll give the bike and my gear a good look over. Tonight? Well, I’ll give everything a rest and get to bed early.

Sorry for being away for so long and thanks for looking in.

2 Responses to “Oops … that wasn’t supposed to happen”

  1. ouch!

  2. Neil and Dana said

    ditto on the ouch thing

Leave a Reply

 
