Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    February 2017
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728  
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

Weekend activities

Posted by joeabbott on February 5, 2017

WP_20170123_17_31_35_Pro 1My weekday activities are pretty routine: work, dinner, some gaming, and bedtime. I’m still getting over the fact that, to feel my best, I need to head to bed before 10PM … as “10PM” usually translates to falling to sleep about 45 minutes later … so there’s not a whole lot of time on weekdays when I get home. Monday and Friday are “free days”, days I can do whatever I want with the 3-4 hours before I need to start getting ready for bed; Tuesday and Thursday we head to the YMCA for a workout, one day with cardio, the other (a new fave) doing yoga; and on Wednesday we are spending time talking about the new house plans. I could share volumes on what we’re learning about in the house discussion but today I’ll look at what I’m doing the other two days of the week: Saturday and Sunday.

Those are also “free days” as we have few commitments asking time of us now. We have a few days on the calendar for special activities: gatherings with friends, work parties at some charity, and things like that. But mostly, it’s the Suzy and Joe Show. And the best way to say what we do is share a few pics!

Woodworking

Typically I have some project or other going but, right now, Seattle is continuing with a bit of a cold snap and it’s making it hard to get into the garage. A week ago I tried doing a project in the evenings but something happened again that I hate: because I’m rushing I made an error and cut a piece wrong. in this case, I cut four pieces wrong and it bugs me a lot. I stewed a bit wondering what I’d do and I won’t recut some lumber and I won’t change the design … I’ll fix it. Meaning, splice (glue) some of the existing wood together and use that. It’ll look fine once I’m done but it’s taught me that trying to rush (for me) is a no-win deal. I’ll just wait for it to get warm.

The picture to the right is from this project. I typically make all of my designs using the same thickness of wood; usually 3/4”. In some cases you need that sorta thickness, in other cases it’s just because I’m inexperienced and use a single type of wood for all the parts. In this case, I have a bunch of 1/2” thick pieces (that will be fine) but I’m making a bottom section twice that thick to give a “heavier” look to the base. I think it’ll look good … we’ll see!

Wedding

WP_20170128_17_44_51_ProWhile not a typical weekend activity, it’s a little something Suzy and I got to enjoy last weekend: a niece on Suzy’s side of the family was getting married and she choose to do it in Canada! Brush off the passport, get that suit out, and enjoy a road trip!

Suzy and I headed out early, got a nice breakfast in at a place in Lynden, WA by the name of Dutch Mother Family Restaurant. Suzy got a pannekoeken that was too large for the plate (but with crepe-like thickness) and I got a pancake; we both got eggs. And, while it was too much food, we wouldn’t have chickens to help us with the leftovers, so we gobbled it down and had to save the bakery treats we got for the next day’s ride home. We then headed to MEC (Mountain Equipment Co-op … Canada’s REI) and Lee Valley (a woodworking and gardening place … talk about perfect for Suzy and me!). We made a few purchases but then headed to the hotel to change.

The wedding was very fine and we enjoyed a night of socializing. But, the long day of travel and loud music got to me and we had to say our goodnights before the final dance. But, we have a few snaps … and, apologies in advance: Suzy has the better camera and better eye for photography!

 

WP_20170128_19_22_02_ProWP_20170128_17_45_05_ProWP_20170128_18_27_18_Pro

A walk in the woods

While destination hiking is always fine, Suzy and I enjoy just getting out and seeing new places: yesterday we were curious to visit Squak Mountain State Park. We’d seen signs directing us to this State Park on our drives and stopped in too late to truly walk the park but we did make ourselves known, familiarized ourselves a bit, and will be ready to better visit in weeks to come. It didn’t help that the rain was pouring (by Seattle standards) and we were making our trip with umbrellas … not the best hiking gear.

And yet, we have some snaps.

Out of the parking lot is a nature trail, and while it’s been years since I’ve learned anything new from these signs, I always welcome a stroll to see what (and how) they’re educating people. Suzy enjoys the signage and seeing how they make these things so durable in all types of weather!

WP_20170204_14_52_10_ProWP_20170204_14_56_46_ProWP_20170204_14_56_39_Pro

WP_20170204_15_01_16_ProWP_20170204_14_52_54_ProWP_20170204_15_00_44_Pro

Coda

And that’s it. We’ll do a bit of shopping for our weekly groceries, maybe eat out, and will stop when we see something interesting, but otherwise we just are bobbing through the days, happy to be together and seeing and doing new things.

Thanks for coming along with us today!

Leave a Reply

 
