Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    January 2017
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

Finally

Posted by joeabbott on January 16, 2017

I can now erase the game Roblox from my Xbox hard drive. I finally completed this achievement:

FinallyRoblox

In early December I saw a friend get an achievement in this game for something like hundreds of points, and so I started playing the game with the intent to “complete” it. And by “complete” it, I mean get all the achievements.

The game has a bunch of simple achievements but the one noted above requires playing it for almost three weeks, every day. That’s the bad news; the good news is that by “playing it”, you just have to log into the game. The worse news is that the game just isn’t fun. And, like a sweeping statement about any game, that comment requires a little clarification: it’s not fun for me.

Roblox is a game that allows people to create other games to share. It’s like a simple game-development kit.You log into the “shell” or base game, choose the entertainment or distraction you want to enjoy, and then play that. Most games look the same but people have done surprisingly creative stuff with it. I’ve played “hide and seek” games, “avoid the dragon” games, and “build a fort” games. In all of them your avatar has a simple health meter and the ability to wander a Minecraft-like landscape. There are some truly novel games out there, too: a “walk into a clothing dryer” game and another “take an elevator to a bunch of strange floors in a building” game.

None of them really grab my attention.

And so, playing a game that you don’t enjoy and needing to do it 20-days running: painful.

During the first 20-days of December, I loaded it faithfully, however on about 12/18 I loaded it at 6PM, rather than around 7AM, like I usually do. I found that the game tracks time by converting to GMT and so that puts me about eight-hours behind that clock … meaning converting 7AM to GMT is about 3PM, and converting 6PM to GMT puts it the next day at 2AM. And so I legitimately missed that block of time.

But, over the next 29 days I’ve been opening the game only to find that, sometime last week the folks running the Xbox Insider program noted a problem with early-offered builds that had a bug; a bug that specifically blocked the tracking of achievements like this! Ouch! I thought the bug was irrecoverable, meaning my new 20-day window would have started from last week, but they’ve obviously recovered some data or I had another slip-up sometime in late December.

Either way, I have the achievement and can get out of a daily grind of opening a game that I’m not interested in. I know, I know … first world problems, but I’m happy to be done. Two hundred GamerScore, a game completed, and an obligation done; I can see why this is called an achievement!!

Leave a Reply

 
