Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    January 2017
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

Another few days

Posted by joeabbott on January 2, 2017

There are a lot of ways I can spend a day but sometimes hanging out at home is about the finest way to enjoy a little time.

After snowshoeing on Friday, my legs were expectedly tired these past few days and so I’m “taking it easy”. As far as industry goes, I attacked the pile of “stuff” that was sitting on the floor in my home office and reduced that to: old packages I could break down and recycle, pieces of hardware of varying degrees of value, and cables. The recyclables were quickly addressed and I put so order into the cables, but we’re in a conundrum about the hardware … it’s good stuff, we just don’t need it and I’ve misplaced the original box. Do we continue to store it? Give it to Re-PC (a component recycler), or try to sell it and recoup some cost? Jury is out but I’m leaning to cleaning out my closet and just giving it to Re-PC.

Aside from that, I’ve played a lot of Dark Souls 3 … a game on my Xbox that has taken a surprising turn. Earlier this year, Microsoft published a Windows computer version of their Xbox environment. That is, I can log onto my PC and see what games people are playing, chat with them as if I was on the Xbox, and all sorts of other stuff. I would have thought the social aspects would be the least interesting to me, as I’m not a big co-op game player, but they’ve actually opened a new part of gaming that I never cared about before.

These days I find myself logging on, playing with “friends”, leaving messages for people who have crossed paths with me in the Dark Souls world, and generally changing how I play. Over the last few days I’ve found myself thinking: I should check in on the chat boards to see if anyone needs help and I can drop into their world. Pretty unheard of compared to how I usually have played.

But, playing games is just part of what I’ve been doing. A big part, but just part. With the weather as chilly out here as it’s been, the casual walks Suzy and I take or the activities we’d participate in outside are on hold: 29°F is just too cold for anything more than quick chores outside to care for the chickens or things like that. And so we find ourselves sitting together and chatting; which is very nice.

Or, we’ll run the occasional errand or eat out. We typically don’t eat out a lot but, with being on vacation, we’re changing that a bit; trying the small shops we may not typically frequent, using coupons we’ve been holding onto, and the like. It’s typically higher calorie than we normally enjoy, but we always come home with a doggie bag.

And that’s about it. I’d love to talk about hikes I’ve been on, projects coming off my workbench, or new places we’ve seen, but these last few days have been quiet, easy days. And, as a change, that’s nice … but I’d lie if I didn’t say I’m looking forward to getting back into a routine that makes me feel a bit more industrious.

Thanks for checking in on my small doings; your quiet company is always appreciated.

Leave a Reply

 
