Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    December 2016
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

Christmas Eve and Christmas Day

Posted by joeabbott on December 29, 2016

Well, I’ve kept up a pretty good set of posts on my doings, but feel I’ve fallen off in the last couple days. One word excuse: Christmas.

I’ll create a post with our yearly holiday lights but they won’t look too much different for last year … next year there will be some differences but you’ll have to wait for that story until later.

WP_20161224_16_30_26_ProWP_20161224_12_04_40_ProOn Christmas Eve we hosted Suzy’s side of the family: doors opened at noon (or, 11AM for my father-in-law who traveled a long way through snow and mountain passes to join us) and we went until around 8:30PM. While we didn’t send anyone home, things wound down, folks had their fill of good foods and treats, and we were all ready for a rest. Here are a few pics:

WP_20161224_16_14_24_Pro

And, as is becoming usual for Suzy and I, we can’t go to bed with a messy house so we went on a cleaning binge for the next three hours, exhausted but happy for a clean home and the ability to sleep in.

WP_20161224_16_20_18_ProWP_20161224_16_27_49_Pro

On Christmas Day it was just Suzy and me. We called my family back in MN a couple times but otherwise just enjoyed our time together. We had breakfast and then opened our “socks” to each other in the AM and then split to our separate pursuits for the next few hours. After dinner we dove into presents sent from my family to us and gifts we bought for the other.

While this year we limited our gifts to each other to “two”, I came across a bookstore in Burien that was going out of sale and had to pick up a couple items they had on their sparsely populated shelves. They’ll be missed … we never went to Burien specifically for this store, but we always stopped in while when we were walking by.

WP_20161225_18_17_18_Pro

I’ll hold for a later post on what Suzy gave me … I’ve written quite enough on things I’ve received, but “what did I give”? Well, maybe our 25 or so years of being together is showing, but I got her a electric (heated) throw and some nice owl-shaped bookends … and with each I gave  separate book! You can’t have heated throw without something to read while under it and bookends without books? Unheard of!

I will say that a day or two after Christmas we had a working day and, as Suzy sat on the couch I slipped my legs under her throw … now I can completely see why she likes “pumped in heat” so much! It was pretty amazing to feel the tightness, fatigue, and general pain slip away. I liked it!

And that was it for Saturday and Sunday. Thanks for looking in on us!

Leave a Reply

 
