Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    December 2016
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

Xbox and me

Posted by joeabbott on December 21, 2016

Custom Coat of ArmsI do a lot of Xbox-ing … everything from playing games alone, to sharing time with Suzy, to using the Xbox for slideshows and watching movies. And, increasingly, it’s becoming where I meet up with “friends” and share adventures. While it’s not a replacement for real life, it’s a good place to go to unwind.

Before anyone starts judging, realize that I watch no TV whatsoever … we don’t have cable, satellite, or “rabbit ears”. I don’t catch up on Hulu and, while we have Netflix, I really can’t remember the last time I watched a show via that medium. I do rent\buy movies through the Microsoft/Xbox online service, but it’s a rare thing that we watch too many shows. I do recall watching a lot of X-Files in the day and we did watch all of Lost … but I think that was the last show I followed. The only thing I still wish I could watch is sports … but, the Vikings are sinking faster than the Titanic this year, so my interest is waning.

Anyhow, I do enjoy gaming and most often enjoy RPG games … role-playing games. I get to determine how my character is built and that influences my experience in the game. I’ve found that I most enjoy “sneaky archer” type characters when they’re allowed.

But, the image to the left is my “Xbox crest” as determined by the Xbox Social and Live Services team … it represents the House of Trimbler. While it contains jets, guns, swords and dragon wings behind a shield … my gaming typically just requires the sword as I slash my way through various virtual worlds.

The Xbox folks sent me this as they noted I earned over 11,000 Gamerscore (on 504 achievements) in 2016 and that put me in the top 1% of Xbox gamers. Not sure if that should be a point of pride or a nudge to get off the couch, but let’s just accept it as fact.

A fun thing about the coat of arms above, is that they allow you to customize your own! While they got a bunch about what I’d choose right, here’s the coat of arms (using their preset options) that I’d have made:

Gamercrest

Thanks for dropping by.

One Response to “Xbox and me”

  1. I don’t get gaming. At all. And I bet you don’t get hours of consignment shopping. At all.

Leave a Reply

 
