Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    December 2016
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

Time for a holiday

Posted by joeabbott on December 16, 2016

Every year I get a buncha vacation time … I accrue about 8 hours every paycheck so I could take a day off every couple weeks! While that sounds nice, if I save it, I can get five weeks of time off in a year! Now that sounds really nice!

Over the years I’ve fallen into a routine of taking a week off early in the season for projects around the house, a week off during Week of Suz, a  week off at Week of Joe, and that leaves two weeks … I spend one in day-here, day-there fashion, mostly long weekend accommodating my hiking; and then that leaves a week for an end of year holiday. Well, routine is almost never routine.

There was that year when I took no vacation at all during the year and got off from Thanksgiving to the New Year, there are years I don’t take a week off during WoS\WoJ, and some years we don’t have spring projects to address. So while I characterize my pattern as routine, it’s hardly the norm.

And so here we are this year and I have nine days of vacation I must “use or lose” … and then there are three company holidays recognized between Christmas and New Years; meaning I’m finding myself in the wonderful situation of having just worked my last day in 2016 yesterday. Can you sense that I’m smiling?

I’m not sure what the day to day will hold but I have a few pins in the calendar: Christmas Eve with my wife’s family here at our home, Christmas with just Suzy, and New Years Eve I hear plans are stirring. There’s a couple days I’ll be volunteering at a goat rescue and I’d like to get out on a hike sometime here … I’m terribly out of shape but what better way to wake a body up than plunge into mountain snow, letting frigid, dry air rake the lungs, and having your sweat flash-freeze to your body? It sounds miserable but you’ve never felt more alive and the glow from exertion and the beauty of high alpine meadows in a blanket of snow will stick with you for days.

So, there’s a lot of stuff I’ll be doing, only the loosest of schedules on which I’ll do it, and time with you and my new computer to share these stories. Thanks for dropping by; I hope to be a more regular companion here the next few weeks.

One Response to “Time for a holiday”

  1. Yay for vacay!

Leave a Reply

 
