Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    December 2016
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

New Computer

Posted by joeabbott on December 9, 2016

imageWell, my old desktop computer wanted to fail; I nudged it along, added memory, and remembered to turn it off regularly (rather than leaving it on incessantly). When I came into the room and heard it whining like it was trying to start its internals on fire, I knew I had to replace it. A couple weeks went by, I didn’t like the Black Friday deals I saw … and the one I jumped at was sold out 2 minutes into the deal … and so I did what I’d done before: dropped by Costco and picked up what they had on sale.

I was looking for the bargain basement deal; Suzy knew the “bargain basement deal” would leave me frustrated and suggested a “nice” machine. It’s nice … not the best, not completely entry level: i7 processor @ 3.4GHz, 16GB RAM and a 2TB hard disk. Should hold me a bit but today’s a day of frustration: installation day.

The day I need to remember what programs I had on, what I liked, and what all those passwords and accounts were. It’s trying. And, in the background, Windows is pushing new everything, making updates, and asking me to create yet additional accounts. I know Skype is owned by Microsoft … why isn’t it using my Microsoft account for credentials?? I’m sure someone somewhere thinks the answer they have makes sense.

For me, it’s a bit frustrating.

One cool thing I have going for me, however, is that, rather than plug it into the monitor my old system was on, I used the TV monitor I play my Xbox games on! Nice to have a 31” monitor as my computer display! The resolution isn’t perfect and the fact that this is an older, bit cruddy monitor is showing all-the-more, but I like the idea and will be watching for additional sales so I can upgrade this setup with a large monitor of its own.

Hoping to catch you up with all the doings and avoid rambling too much about how I hate this new keyboard or am annoyed by having a big CPU on the desk next to my arm. A bit callous and snotty to have such riches and opportunities available to me … and then complain about it. But get ready … it’s Christmas time and we have our lights up, Suzy is baking and doing art projects, and I’m about to get a couple weeks off work: home from 12/16 through the New Year! I love this time!

Thanks for dropping by.

Leave a Reply

 
