Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    September 2016
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Oct »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

I’m back … but won’t be writing much today

Posted by joeabbott on September 18, 2016

For those who follow this blog, you may have noted a lapse in postings … and during high summer! It’s not lack of activity that I want to share, it was that my computer gave out a bunch of weeks ago and I just addressed it yesterday.

You see, I normally leave my computer on … I have a large RAID array that I keep with pictures and info on it and I like the “instant on” of my desktop system. But, one day the system started acting funny and so I rebooted … and nothing happened. Well, the thing that happened was that my machine would whir to supposed life but nothing from the computer appeared on the monitor. I got a Samsung logo when the monitor first came on, but no BIOS information or startup data showed up. I assumed I blew my video card.

Well, on talking to a guy at work, he thought that was a reasonable assessment and offered to bring in a video card for me. As favors go, this one dragged on for a week or two before I gave up on him. Then, L-I-F-E got in the way and I ended up changing jobs (still at Microsoft and even working for the same team … a looong story that I won’t go into here), and I took a week off from work.

Well, with chores up on the property and enjoying some time with Suzy … all while we nurse various over-use related injuries from all those projects … the computer sat. I’d think about it but with a laptop computer, most of the critical stuff was getting handled. During that time I ran to a local Re-PC (a reused PC shop that I’ve dropped off several old computer chassis) and as I was muttering about which video card to select from their bin of As-Is cast-offs, a clerk overheard me.

Now, apologies for the side note on appearance, but this guy slayed me. He was THE canonical computer nerd: tall and a bit gangly, bad complexion, voice either breaking or just unused to talking to people, greasy hair and clothes were unkempt. But, he was confident in his assessment that it was my RAM that needed addressing. He was so confident, that I walked out empty handed and, again, put my quest to fix my computer on the back burner until I could research RAM.

But yesterday I decided to do something about it.

So, I crawled under my desk, popped the cover on the chassis, marveled at how clean and tidy everything still looked, and found the RAM. The test which was bad, the clerk told me to pull out one stick (leave the other in) and restart the system; then try with the other stick. One of the two should be “bad” and give me the same problem I saw before. Unfortunately … or is that “fortunately” … both sticks seemed to work fine. And when I put them both in, it still worked fine.

So I’m not really sure what happened previously but it appeared to be fixed. However, as the system was “getting old” but I still wanted to keep it around, I went back to Re-PC and picked up another 4GB of RAM (for the cost of $5.49) and now my system is up, running, and I have more memory for doing all my doings.

So, I should be back in the saddle and ready to post some stories. Next weekend I’ll be out hiking so I won’t be writing but will be getting material for a future post!

Thanks for watching this space and hopefully I’ll have more stuff of interest soon!

Leave a Reply

 
