Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    June 2016
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

Where were we?

Posted by joeabbott on June 25, 2016

It wasn’t the worst headache I’d ever had, but it kept me inside and immobile for a couple of days. And it reminded me that we’ve been go-go-going … because, other than the headache pain, it felt good to have a few days “off”.

The cold was just something going around at work … I thought I was just developing the deep-ish voice I get when I’m over-worked, but on Friday, when a few co-workers mentioned that I didn’t look well, I took off around noon, went home, and slept most of the balance of that day. And then did the same on Saturday and Sunday, too. They were rainy days and, as I looked toward my Xbox to take away some of the tedium and give me something that wouldn’t demand too much focus, I tried a game I’d played before: Dishonored.

And what a blast I’m having.

About two years ago to the day I wrote this in my blog:

I picked up playing a game called Dishonored. It’s a 2012 release and I’d popped it in months ago and played a bit but came back to it after that hiatus. And what a smashing time I’m having with it! The game is near-genius and high quality … none of this Nier or Space Monkey goo I’d had in the Xbox! I’m having a lot of fun and will likely play it a second time.

In the game you are a body guard framed for a killing and sentence to death. You’re broken out of prison on the evening of your execution by those who believe in your innocence and are now out to find the real killer and save one of the royal family who was abducted. The game sprawls on with an otherwordly character, The Outsider, who intervenes and gives you some mystic powers, with a betrayal, and a great steam punk city to explore. Again, great stuff.

What I like most is that you can play the game either “low chaos” or “high chaos” … meaning either stealthily sneaking past and knocking out enemies, or putting them to the sword and leaving a trail of blood. I’m choosing low chaos, avoiding deaths and remaining unseen. It’s suspenseful fun and is making for a great break when I get home.

Same game, same reaction. As the game I’m playing now is released on the Xbox One, I can get all the achievements all over again. Since breaking 100k GS I’m not as motivated to get all the achievements in all the games, but I am having enough fun that after, again, playing through on “low chaos” and using minimal powers, I’m raising a bit of ruckus and laying down a bit more mayhem. It’s just a brilliant game.

Today Suzanne and I will head up to the property and do a bit more clearing. Now that we have pictures from our efforts over the last few weekends, I’ll make a post.

Thanks for dropping in.

Leave a Reply

 
