Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    December 2015
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

I got a knife problem

Posted by joeabbott on December 31, 2015

OK, I’ll just get it out there: I have a love for knives. Not sure when I realized it … maybe when Suzy called it out … but I have a lot of knives. Not hundreds and certainly not wonderful beautiful knives, but I have a bunch. Most are folding pocket knives but I have a few fixed-blades, some machetes, and even an old switchblade that I keep in a small box kept away with all the memories that come with something handed down.

But, this holiday season, my “collection” increased by four knives. Here’s a quick post about these beauties!

Magnum 01YA073 Bulldog Folding Knife

I got it from a niece who sent me this as a Christmas gift and I absolutely love it … the official name of this knife is a mouthful so I like calling it the Cleaver … because it’s like having a meat cleaver in your pocket.

image

It’s a bit bulky for daily carrying but I had an old apple I wanted to slice up for the chickens and using this knife gave me the cleaver analogy. The knife cuts with complete confidence and you can almost hear a guillotine-like whack when you finish the cut. It’s a very solid knife.

Kershaw Skyline Knife with Textured Black G-10 Handle

Again, a long and hard-to-remember knife name, which is truly unfortunate as this is one elegant knife.

image

It has a pointed tip that can remove a splinter from your hand (and, yes, that is a criteria that I value and use often) and is sharp enough out of the package to challenge a razor. I dry-shaved the hair off the back of my hand without discomfort or lubrication; it’s that sharp.

While it’s only a bit thinner than the Magnum, it has a smaller footprint and whispers into and out of your front pocket almost without you knowing it’s there. But, the textured handle gives you a positive grip with ease.

Blur, Black Aluminum, Trac-Tec, Blackwash Plain – M – 1670BW

While I don’t have a favorite, the tactile qualities of this knife puts it into my hand a lot.

image

The texture on the grip keeps this knife from slipping into your pocket easily but you can’t imagine it ever slipping from your hand, either. The thumbstud, used to flick open the blade is a bit longer and has a knurled, angled surface, allowing it to open more quickly than any other knife I own. It’s amazingly fast but, again, that rough surface keeps you from ever feeling the knife is opening out of control.

Like the Kershaw Skyline, the blade on this knife has a “stone washed” quality that comes from the bead-blasting finish. As I’m not looking for a highly chromed finish to the blades of my knives, I like the look of this one a lot.

Columbia River Knife and Tool’s K406BXP Ken Onion Ripple Razor Edge Bronze Knife

The CRKT home base is almost in my backyard and, either because of that or because they make quality tools, I really like their stuff.

image

I think Suzy got me this one as a Black Friday deal when it was marked down ridiculously out of the Amazon store and it’s a bit of a wildcard. It’s the thinnest knife of the four and, even with the exaggerated texturing on the sides, it easily slips into my pocket. But, without an opening assist, it’s a bit harder to get the knife open and in a locked position quickly. And you need this one locked … it’s insanely sharp and the “ripple” on the blade (the serrated section) gives the knife a crazy-wicked quality.

One of the more interesting features of the knife is that the blade lock mechanism is created by the metal that makes up the handle. That is, the handle is bent inward so that when the blade is opened, it drops into place behind the blade to keep it open. Many knives us this sort of locking device but have scales or something to cover this aspect. It’s just a bit unique.

Coda

That’s it … four gifts, four knives. All different and all vying for my favor as my go-to knife.

Unfortunately, I don’t carry a knife on me most times and so all of these will likely find their way into the entryway table drawer with a bunch of my other knives. Some time I’ll empty that drawer out and share some of the other knives in my collection. For now, thanks for dropping in and learning about this quirky interest of mine!

Hope you all have a fabulous new year!

Leave a Reply

 
