Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    December 2015
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

Vacation to date …

Posted by joeabbott on December 7, 2015

After my bold announcement of a month of vacation, I feel like I should have posted more; To somehow be more accountable for my time off. A year or two back, I took another, similar vacation, and did a post-a-day that turned into a mini-diary; it wasn’t quite to my liking. That said, I’m not liking time going by without having any recollection of what I did! So I’ll find an in-between: meaningful posts with a few items like this every few days to catch up on what I have been doing.

Saturday

Saturday was spent dinking around the house and then heading out for an early dinner with Suzy. A little Outback meal that was so big we ended up taking our dessert home … which we enjoyed as an intermission on the evening’s entertainment. How did we entertain ourselves? Well, we opted to watch a movie: Miss Congeniality. After which we started, ever so hesitantly, a game called Lifeless Planet.

We didn’t get far and called it a day.

Sunday

I headed to a old chum’s home (a condo in Bellevue) to watch the Minnesota Vikings get shellacked by the Seattle Seahawks … a 38-7 rout. In truth, I was looking for a Vikings victory, but my home team didn’t show up and allowed the Seahawks to run it up. While I’ve lived in Seattle for 26 years, I still bleed purple every fall … and there was a lotta blood on Sunday.

On getting home I finished watching a film called Mad Max: Fury Road and then watch the 2013 film Gravity, And then I tinkered around with Dark Souls (a game known for being hard) and tried a new character build: just a brawny, hulking strength build. Hoping it’ll be an enjoyable way to go but I’m not far in, so we’ll see.

When Suzy got home from visiting houses and properties with an in-law (mostly an excuse for an afternoon out), we had a frozen pizza dinner and settled in for more Lifeless Planet, getting about 2/3 the way through.

Today

I have a few more days of “obligations” … even though they’re fun things, they’re pins in my calendar asking that I be in a certain place at a certain time; so hard to “be on vacation”. Tomorrow we see a financial advisor (our plans for a “retirement home” rely on hearing good things!) and Wednesday I’m visiting a nephew to do some woodworking. But today? Today Suzy and I will head into Tacoma to visit Tinkertopia … a store that sells knickknacks and craft goods. We’ll then drop off some old car oil and fluids at a recycling center, get some bedding for the chickens, and run our south end chores.

Later tonight I imagine I’ll play some Fallout 4 and Suzy and I will complete Lifeless Planet. A good day ahead of me!

One Response to “Vacation to date …”

  1. momma said

    ‘Nice to see you’re kicking back a bit with movies! I have a hard time lately getting my one Netflix movie back within a week – so much else going on. And reading takes my “free time”. It’s a very strange thing to hear my “child” talk about retirement housing! Life is very weird sometimes… But your idea of retirement is hardly hitting a rocking chair, I know.
    Mom

Leave a Reply

 
