Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    October 2015
    M T W T F S S
    « Sep   Nov »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

September into October

Posted by joeabbott on October 4, 2015

PA030001Project-wise, September came and went without a completion. It’s a bit sad result of my process … the part that says, “when it’s frustrating, not going your way, and not fun … step away.” It was and so I did, but it meant that in the month of September, I didn’t complete a project.

In stark terms it’s a failure but I’m more generous with my own foibles and consider the months I did several projects at the beginning of the year to compensate. I’m still moving along, albeit at a slower clip than I would like, on the table, and expect to finish up in a week or two, but yesterday I took a hike.

The plan was to get back to Dog Mountain and actually hit the summit, then to come home and do some more woodworking on the table. Instead I hiked Silver Peak and came home for a nap. As long as I’m forgiving myself, I’ll keep at it and call this a win.

Heath and I planned to get out for weeks now and our weekends finally lined up. He had never been up Dog Mountain (and strictly speaking, neither had I) so we chose that as our destination. A minor peak in the Cascades, it’d give us a chance to head to a remote location (the trail is no longer maintained) and enjoy the beauty of the mountains as fall descends. Heath offered to meet at 6AM so we piled into my truck at that hour and headed into the hills. It was dark and the “mist” kept my windshield wipers on for the trip.

About an hour in (there are a lot of forest roads), we were stumped by a gated road. Coincidentally, another driver was there opening the gate … what luck! I thought we’d drive in after the opening and get our hike in. Unfortunately, he closed the gate after he pulled his car through. I spoke to him briefly, but he didn’t speak English well and what came out was: if I had a key to the gate, I could pass; otherwise there was nothing he could do. We tried calling a number that was posted but it was a contact for someone during office hours and the best we could piece together was that it was logging property (or under a logging company care) and they had gated the road during hunting season. Whether for our protection or to limit who got through wasn’t clear but we changed our destination.

PA030008 Stitch

Rather than the typical I-90 haunts of Mt. Si or Mailbox Peak, we chose Silver Peak as Heath had yet to summit it and I hadn’t from the trail we planned to travel. All good, especially as the misting had stopped and, upon cresting the mountains at Snoqualmie Pass, we left all rain behind.

While two cars pulled in shortly before us, we proved the faster and made the 4.5 mile hike to the summit first, enjoying brisk winds and low clouds but otherwise beautiful views. The trip was on solid trails under peerless skies and in mild temps. On the way out we bumped into a dozen others heading in and we managed to get home in time for a late lunch. Such is the beauty of an early start time.image

However, by the time I’d dropped Heath off at his car, my right knee was stiffening up and complaining for the work I’d put it through. When I got home, I was clearly limping and to stay off it, and to rest up a bit, I took a nap. Delish.

Today I’ll be cheering Suzy on as she runs a 5k in Burien. There’s a minor festival associated with the “Brat Trot” … as in bratwurst … so we’ll wander the streets and shops when she finishes, enjoy a brat, and then come home to a quiet October Sunday. Sounds about perfect.

image

Hope your weekend is as pleasant as mine and thanks for dropping in!

2 Responses to “September into October”

  1. francesjoanabbott said

    Hiking with a friend, getting a nap in, Suzy running a 5K, roaming around a minor festival with each other’s good company – sounds like a beautiful weekend!
    Momma

  2. francesjoanabbott said

    I have to add onto my previous response. I keep going back to that wonderful, amazing photo of your friend up on the peak, and the VIEW. Just gorgeous. I guess that’s what makes climbing worth the effort, and putting up with the knee thing… Momma

Leave a Reply

 
