Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    February 2015
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    232425262728  
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

Uproar–something to make noise about!

Posted by joeabbott on February 15, 2015

imageThe Wildcat Sanctuary’s mission statement is:

Provide a natural sanctuary to wild cats in need and inspire change to end the captive wildlife crisis.

You can read about it here and find a lot of other great information, too. For those of you who are inclined to click that link and visit TWS’s website, I’ll urge you to navigate to the News & Events menu where you can select the Uproar Magazine link and treat yourself to a complete issue of that fine magazine.

And why, you may wonder, am I being so directive in my recommendation to check out the January issue of Uproar magazine? Well, on page 13 you’ll get to see my sister, Laurel, at work on a BIG CAT! Yup, that’s her on the left, about to assist in providing a bit of dental care to one of the resident felines. She specializes in pet dentistry and takes her skills on the road to help even the exotic animals in need of a bit of dental care!

It’s not my typical style to dedicate a post to someone else … especially without their permission, but I gotta do it now. Laurel, your family out here in Seattle are hella-proud of you! Thanks for making a difference!

Smile

Oh, and The Wildcat Sanctuary is a nonprofit organization so if are able and inclined, I’m sure a donation would be gratefully accepted. I know when my company’s annual donation drive is going on, I’ll look for TWS and have my company match my donation.

As always, thanks for dropping by.

2 Responses to “Uproar–something to make noise about!”

  1. Laurel said

    ThanK you so much Joe for the kudos. It was wonderful to help the cats! TWS is a wonderful organization the provides all the care without Any government assistance–strictly by private party donation! Amazing people!

  2. Momma said

    What fun to see Laurel and the Tiger on your blog, Joe! I amped up all your siblings Valentine’s with a copy of the photo/mag cover, as I thought it was pretty special. I wasn’t sure that Laurel would be getting a copy of the magazine – I’m on their list because of a donation I’d made to this great organization! Momma

Leave a Reply

 
