Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    November 2014
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

The Daily Scrawl

Posted by joeabbott on November 29, 2014

WP_20141128_003Well, yesterday was the day after Thanksgiving and so Joe and Suzy got to doing what Joe and Suzy do about that time: we started our holiday decorating. It helped that we were having deluge-style rains because all our doings were inside doings!

I pull the boxes down from the loft in the garage and then Suzy brings in the boxes she needs for inside decorating. I then bring down the lighted deer and will spend the day in the garage testing out lights and putting to rights those that are amiss. It can be a long, chilly afternoon but, to my surprise, the majority of our deer were working fine. A couple needed some TLC, a few bulbs were replaced, and only one deer was a lost cause.

The lost cause was our “topiary deer”: a tall fella (could have been the original deer that start the craze) who is covered with green, plastic “ivy” or something. He looks pretty good but he had a short I couldn’t track down last year and so we started referring to him as the “constellation deer”, as the nighttime view of him gave the distinct impression you were looking at something but it wasn’t really clear what it was. Anyhow, he’s still good-looking enough to stake into the yard but we won’t be lighting him this year.

WP_20141128_004By the time I came in for my first break, Suzy was ready for my help with a strand or two of lights, securing the banister holly, and getting our plant ledge setup working. Then I was out again to finish the deer and, when I came in again, the house was finished.

Suzy looked at the weather report, saw that snow was coming, and our Saturday-after-Thanksgiving tradition of getting our tree turned into a Friday-night-after-Thanksgiving tradition. Thankfully all of the shopping madness had passed and we breezed in and out with our haul: an amaryllis, a bag of cinnamon-scented pine cones, and our 6’ tree. We’re not usually picky about the tree but typically spend more than the 2 minutes we took.

All attendants were missing from the lot so I cut the twine on a bundled tree, we spun it a few times, and realized we could look a long time and not do better … that first tree was ours! My new pickup truck came in handy as we tossed it in back, lashed it down, and were ready to roll!

It did snow last night, enough that the chickens are refusing to leave their coop, so I’m glad we got our tree. I’ll finish this up, work on a chore or two, and then (hopefully) it’ll have warmed a bit and I can stake out the deer without freezing!

WP_20141129_001

Thanks for dropping by for a quickie chat! Hope your holidays are off to a good start, too!

2 Responses to “The Daily Scrawl”

  1. momma said

    Sounds like a fine day, and I had a similar one here, as your sister hauled my tree upstairs (wondering how I ever did it myself for so long!) and it’s looking good now all lit up in front of the picture window this year, instead of in the corner where it usually stood. I’m feeling like doin’ things different this year! Also filled my window boxes with pine branches, holly and more little lights. Very pretty! As for your photo, I think that’s the first time I’ve ever seen SNOW in your garden! Surprised me. Of course we’ve had a white ground cover of 3″ or so for quite a while. Nice hearing about your day, Joe.
    Momma

  2. Jay said

    Wow. You’ve made your back yard into an amazing place!
    Jay

Leave a Reply

 
