Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    November 2014
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

The sanctum has been breached

Posted by joeabbott on November 23, 2014

WP_20141123_002After my last posted rant I wanted to do a quick write-up on Week of Joe … the week around my birthday … but there’s no way I could do that quickly and still do it justice. So, while I work on that, another little rant: it’s too darned noisy in here.

My home is perfect for me. I love my workshop and home-office (complete with Xbox that sees nightly use); I like our spare but tidy furnishings; I like sharing it with Suzy and the cats; the gardens outside are wonderful. But it’s the quiet I like most. We don’t have TVs running (ok, we have televisions but none that pull in cable or network signals … they’re both connected to Xboxes), we’re not playing constant music, and while we live near the airport, we almost never hear air traffic noise (possible because we live about a mile perpendicular from the terminal … not up or down runway).

You can pick up a book or magazine and get in some reading in almost any room at any time. Need a nap? Flop down and you’ll be able to doze off anywhere. Want to have a conversation without raising your voice? Fine … do that. I don’t want to imply I need monk-like solitude or some out-of-the-body sensory depravation experience, but I don’t like unnecessary noise.

And so what the heck is THIS doing in my home??

The “this” is an industrial dehumidifier and we have two of them going. And they’re loud. Not car-without-a-muffler-loud, but still a constant drone with the occasional louder drone when the pump engages to drain the internal pan. We have one downstairs in the entry and one upstairs in Suzy’s office. And they’re going. All the time. 24×7.  Oh, and there are a couple of hoses running from the units to the nearest drain; one hose runs across our bedroom into the master bath shower, the other runs down the hall and into a mudroom sink. <whimper>

WP_20141120_002This past week Suzy noticed what we thought was a moth near the ceiling. The “moth” didn’t move for a couple days and closer examination revealed a wet spot. She then followed it down the corner of the house and noticed our floorboards were warping in the entry and signs of water damage marked that corner.

WP_20141123_001So, we called the builder who had put in Suzy’s office a couple years back and they were out the next day. A quick inspection confirmed a couple things: we did indeed have a water problem and it very much appeared to be coming from a location that was part of their construction.

I very much liked that there was no quibbling about who was responsible for what: we had water damage and regardless who was responsible for what, we’d need it fixed and they jumped to it. What I didn’t like even a tiny bit is that part of the fix is to have these two dehumidifiers running around the clock in our home. On a week I’m off from work!

I believe the builder said the roofers will be out sometime early this week. Which is good because we have a lot of rain coming.They’ll fix or address whatever is causing the water to come in and then we just need to dry out the area, pull out some sheetrock to see if there’s any damage, and maybe repair the floor around the door.

Stuff like this will always be with me; I’m a homeowner and it comes with the territory. I did have my hopes on a nice, quiet, relaxing bit of time off from work but I suppose that will have to wait until the end-of-year time off.

Until then, hope you can find a measure of peace and quiet in your home.

Leave a Reply

 
