Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    April 2014
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

I’m a star!

Posted by joeabbott on April 13, 2014

imageOK, well, not really but I did get one named after me for my birthday!

First, let’s talk a bit of science: there are a lot of stars in the universe. A serious lot. According to one site, about a septillion stars … which is 1×10^24. Or, a ‘1’ with 24 ‘0’ after it. Lemme type that out for ya: 1,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000.

Had I mentioned there are a lot of stars in the universe? Now, this is just one estimate; other’s estimate differently but it’s been often said there are more stars in the universe than there are grains of sand on earth! It’s a big claim, but one that’s stood up to the scrutiny of at least one blogger out there.

This is all a roundabout way of saying that if everyone on earth wanted their own star, they could get it; there are plenty. I got mine and it was a gift from Suzy.

To be clear, I didn’t get the star, it’s just been named for me.

image

The Star Dedication Registry has over a million stars named for people in their database and now has one for me:

image

The star is roughly in the Crater Constellation; I’ve estimated its position on a night sky diagram below.

image

Being near the Crater Constellation, it’s most easily seen from my neck of the woods in September, where it’ll be close to the southern horizon. Suzy knows I like red and, after perusing the catalog, she picked the largest red star she could find and had it registered for me.

While this post is a bit late in being written, having a star named for me is a wonderful gift and one that continues to make me smile when I see it. Now that’s a birthday gift! Thanks, Suzy!

2 Responses to “I’m a star!”

  1. Fran said

    Joe! Grams had a star named after her too! Suzanne Dunbar bought it for her… and she has the certificate to prove it! What a fun thing! Momma

  2. Jay said

    A nice bright star. Good job Suzy!

    Jay

Leave a Reply

 
