Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    February 2014
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    2425262728  
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

I am elated

Posted by joeabbott on February 8, 2014

I’m done.

Not “done” done … just far enough along to say, “wow … lookit that.”

image

The balloons are for a party at our home in a few hours but they may as well be fore completing this project. It was bigger than I was when I started … I think I’ve grown. <g>

On the “yet to do” list is a bit of tweaking to make the doors slide a bit better in some places, I would like to plane the door sides so there is absolutely zero gap between the door and edge of the cabinet, and I broke an upper rail while installing it so I should check that out and fix it up. I had wanted door handles (notches, really) in the doors but I may change my mind; I’ll mock up a few things and see if something works.

Anyhow, I had to post this just because. It’s been a long time coming and the load that’s been on my shoulders and mind has lifted. I bet the rest of today will be pretty good. Thanks for checking in.

4 Responses to “I am elated”

  1. Chantal said

    Gorgeous! You are a great woodworker – or is it craftsman … whatever, beautiful bench.

  2. Momma said

    Yes, I confirm what Chantal said in Comment 1. I love the way the grain moves along the top, and then down on the cabinet fronts. It’s enormous! I can just see Suzy itching to begin moving things in. Bravo, Joe – a job very well done. You’ll have to send me a photo sometime so I can show Uncle Joe. I had to laugh, as last time I was up there (the time before that), I’d noticed that the beautiful box you’d crafted for him was empty… Oh my. So I left a couple pieces of wrapped chocolate in there without saying a word. When I returned this past week, I checked it out when he was busy elsewhere and yup, he’d paid a visit to the box and obviously was pleased to find some treats in there for him. Now it’ll be a little game we play, I guess. That box brings him a lot of joy, and this admirable cabinet of yours will do likewise, I’m sure. It will be very satisfying to have something so good-looking provide a heap of storage space, while still keeping its beauty. Well done!

  3. marty7n said

    gorgeous bench!love the sliding doors.

  4. joeabbott said

    Thanks, Marty7n … I appreciate the comments!

    And, yes, I very much appreciate hearing from Chantal and Momma! 🙂 Although I always suspect a touch of bias in your comments! But, please, keep making them! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
