Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

Quick update

Posted by joeabbott on December 23, 2013

No pictures from today or yesterday … well, none that I’ll share just yet. I’m late for bed and making this short.

On Sunday I applied oil and wax to the toe kick and then installed it. Then I glued two sub-bottom parts together (the 2’x8’ panel and the 2’x4’ panel). Not a lot of progress but these days I’m just happy to be moving forward.

Today (Monday) I installed additional support in the base because we decided to move the walls on the inner cabinet sections. I talked about it in the DCRs post and we opted for layout A. Because I plan on driving screws through the base, I wanted some lumber backing up the screws. Also, I want to drive the screws in a location they won’t be seen … which means directly underneath a vertical wall.

When the bottom section is ready, I’ll have some dadoes (slots) routed out where the vertical walls will be. In the dadoes I’ll drive a countersunk head screw through the bottom, into the sub-bottom, and then into the base. That’ll keep things locked into place pretty solidly. I’ll also run a bead of glue around the edges and clamp the two panels down tight to ensure we don’t get gaps between the two panels. More as that develops.

In addition to installing the support beams today, I also glued up the 12’ long panel that will be the bottom. I very much did not like the glue-up job that I did Sunday … I didn’t clamp them but tried to push them together tightly: they ended up gappy. Ugh. To avoid this today, I came up with a novel way to clamp the panels together as I butted them up. I’ll share pictures later.

You may note that I both didn’t make a lot of progress and I’m in a bit of a rush. The reason is that I slept poorly last night and woke up this morning just ruined: huge headache, a bit of nausea, and my head got swimmy when I’d do work. I ended up sleeping away a good part of the day. I feel badly when I’m not productive and today was a big day for feeling badly in many ways.

But, even though I slept a lot of today, I’m still tired and need to be up and out tomorrow AM: in the early morning I have a Christmas Eve Day hike with a buddy for work! And after that, Suzy and I head to her family’s gathering and we will spend the rest of the day with them. It should be a lot of fun. So the next time you’ll hear from me will be Christmas Day and I bet I won’t have touched the cabinet since then. I will have pictures from Sunday and Monday that I’ll share then!

Thanks for coming by.

Leave a Reply

 
