Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

… after getting up

Posted by joeabbott on December 12, 2013

imageMy last post commented on my ill-fated run to a Microsoft Store to score a free phone; and that the only way I’d walk out of that store with the freebie meant signing a 2-year contract to the tune of almost $900/year. I certainly declined and caught up on another hour’s sleep when I got home. Here’s the rest of the day.

Writing cards

imageI’m looking forward to posting our card this year; we had a lot of fun with it. As always, Suzy does the majority of the work and I just provide support, moderate inspiration, and tweaking the words when needed. This year, she was on a tear and I felt barely useful!

Over the years our style has remained “eclectic” and we enjoy mixing up the look from year to year. We do, however, regularly go back to Suzy’s hand-drawn illustrations. I love the whimsy and fun they capture. She has a keen eye for nailing traits of our cats (who are often featured in the cards) and has now included chickens in her repertoire of animals she can draw!

imageYou can see examples of our earlier cards in the repository she keeps here. For me, it’s a lot of fun to go back through those cards and enjoy times past.

It’s hard to pick favorites but here are a few images that I liked. I’m intentionally choosing a number of styles so again … go visit her page for more fun!

image

OK … so the point I wanted to make was that I spent a few hours yesterday completing the card-writing that I’d started the day before. It was nice to get that done … we put a lot of time and effort into creating the cards so it’s nice to give folks time to enjoy them before they pull down their holiday decorations. And, for us, cards are part of the decorations for the season!

imageErrands

After the cards, I buzzed out to Home Depot and picked up a piece of 1/4” plywood for a small project I have in mind. It was going to be a small box for someone but I think I’m too late (a common theme) and won’t have time to get it done and into the mail this year. “Plywood box” you might be saying? Again, just wait … it’ll be neat and I’ll share it with you here.

From there I dropped off my letters into the Post and then headed to a nearby furniture store we like, Skarbos, to spend an hour or so looking over their furniture, figuring out what works and how they build it, so I can emulate those ideas in the cabinet I plan on building.

The cluster of images to the right are from my pocket notebook that I jot dimensions, notes, small diagrams of how other things are put together. Just whatever notes I’ll need to move me through the designs I plan on making.

Home again

imageWith my errands run, I came home and prepared dinner (leftovers!) and then played a bit of Tomb Raider. It wasn’t on my list of immediate games to play, but as the end-of-year “best of” lists come trickling in, Tomb Raider is getting enviable nods as one of the top 10 games from the year so I thought I should give it a go. I’m far enough into the game to have “leveled up” a few skills but not far enough to have scored any achievement points … which means I’m enjoying it but not incredibly invested.

The evening activities included wrapping a few gifts that we’ll be sending out to MN later in the week and doing a bit more reading before turning in for the night. It was a good day.

As always, thanks for dropping by and I look forward to chatting in the near future.

One Response to “… after getting up”

  1. Momma said

    Occasionally, I’ll check in to see if you’re back on track here, Joe. It’s been a long time since I’ve got to enjoy your entries, and this morning, on a whim, I checked in, as I’d heard you were finally on vacation. Yippee! Lots and lots of entries these past days, and I just spent nearly an hour enjoying every bit of it! Momma

Leave a Reply

 
