Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    May 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr   Jun »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

Busy weekend

Posted by joeabbott on May 13, 2013

While taking care of the sprinkler system was the big ticket work item on my Saturday “fix it” list, it was one of those days when one thing led to another.

I walked through the garage and saw a few boxes lying about that needed to be moved up to the storage loft (cue pulling out the ladder), I then came across some things were were going to donate so I loaded the car for a trip to Goodwill, while finishing that up I saw that I’d tracked mud (now dried) all over the garage the prior weekend so it needed a good sweeping, and so on. There was the new pole for a birdhouse in the yard (I had to shave down the top to fit into the adapter on the birdhouse …and ripped up my finger in the process), there was the mowing and edging of the yard, and then putting away the grill as rain was forecast.

And while there was weeding and laundry, and tidying up the house, another “big” project I wrote off was taking down the temporary coop. Yup, that’s right, all our chickens are staying in one shelter and we had no use for the temp coop. While I was, I hesitate to say “proud”, I did feel it’s been a great project: clever, did the job, and solid. Suzy, however, referred to is as an “eyesore” and she was probably right: two colors of tarp, some cut-off plywood sheltering one side, and a mismatched set of clear, plastic roofing panels protecting another. Pretty much an eyesore by definition.

And so I made time to take it down. And it came down quick!

imageimageimageimage

And all that was left when I was done was a patch of ground for the chickens to peck around!

image

I have a few changes I’ll make the next time I put it up (Robertson drive [square head] screws, for one) but this was a grand success.

Thanks for dropping in.

Leave a Reply

 
