Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    May 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr   Jun »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

Word of the week Photo Challenge: Agriculture

Posted by joeabbott on May 10, 2013

Another week and I was almost equally uninspired by the topic: agriculture.

imageWe have dairy goods delivered to our home, so I thought about taking a small road trip to the local farm that delivers our milk and snap a picture there … but that seemed a bit dull as it’s an industrial-looking building. Then I thought about shooting a fallow pumpkin patch field that’s near our home: we have had our share of fun walking through the muck and mire looking for that perfect gourd to grace our Halloween festooned porch. But, a dead field? Really?

And then a friend of mine who is also doing the photo challenge pinged me and asked when I was going to submit a picture of our chickens. The thought hadn’t occurred to me! We have eight hens but I have always associated agriculture with crops. Truth be told, I had considered taking a micro micro micro picture of a planter in which we have lettuce seeded (and is just starting to send up green shoots) … but you can’t tell the lettuce from tiny clover at this point so it seemed meaningless.

So the chicken idea had potential but it took a trip to my search engine to “define agriculture”:

farming: the occupation, business, or science of cultivating the land, producing crops, and raising livestock

Well … there you have it. And so, I present, a few from our flock.

imageimageimageimage

I liked the picture with the basalt columns better than the shot looking down our yard, but the chickens weren’t as varied in the second shot: I was shooting the hens, after all, not the rocks. But, I did make a note that my shooting has been sub-par. Not well composed, not interesting, and I could very much do better. So I shall endeavor to do so.

Thanks for looking in.

The “word of the week Photo Challenge is brought to you by http://photochallenge.org.

Leave a Reply

 
