Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    May 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr   Jun »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

So, ah … how’s that shop project coming along?

Posted by joeabbott on May 5, 2013

Well, it stalled out but not due to me not wanting to get out there but I’ve been “less well” the last two weekends and just now catching up with other work/projects.

One weekend I wasn’t feeling 100% so I opted to work on indoor projects … cleaning my office, light housework, that sort of thing. Then the next weekend I ran into an eye problem!

On Thursday I was feeling something scratchy in my eye and thought it was morning eye duff or some other crud. At work, it was painful to put in my contacts but, once they were in, all seemed fine. Then on the ride home, I found light to be troubling to look at an had to look away from the windows … good thing I was carpooling and a passenger! That night it got worse and on Friday I went to an eye doc who said, “you have an eye infection and the start of a small ulcer in your eye.”

?!?!?!?!

Anyhow, I spent the next few days dousing with eye drops and putting a goo the consistency of Vaseline into my eye at night. Come Monday, the doc proclaimed all to be well (continue eye treatment for the next three days) and said nothing about the “ulcer”. When I asked about it she said something about the infection looking like the start of an ulcer or some such but all was well now. Not terribly pleased with that … the scare, that is … but happy all was well.

And so, I’m back but will have to deal with the cat post next week as today I plan on idling the day away. It’s about 2PM on a Sunday afternoon, I have the yard mowed and edged, a small number of issues around the chicken coop handled, and I’m feeling lazy. A bit later I’ll check our irrigation system (just powered it up yesterday and I want to be sure it’s working correctly) and will add another roost to the chicken coop (we’re integrating our flocks [8 birds total] this weekend).

And that’s it for news from my home in Seattle. Hope this finds you well and thanks for stopping in!

2 Responses to “So, ah … how’s that shop project coming along?”

  1. mom said

    Whew! Momma

  2. mom said

    good as is! Momma

Leave a Reply

 
