Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    April 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

A short week

Posted by joeabbott on April 21, 2013

This will be a quick post about the small doings of my week; consider it a “letter home to the family” if you will. Nothing of interest to see here.

Last weekend started with Suzy catching what looked like a bit of a stomach flu. She quarantined herself and rested for most of the next 3-4 days, and I took the lion’s share of the dinner prep and housework. With just the two of us, it’s pretty light work and I was happy to see that she was able to rest and recover, if not quickly, at least completely.

imageThis was also my fourth week on a diet which, so far, has been pretty successful. My diet plan is pretty simple: eat three meals a day with two snacks and that’s it. Doesn’t sound like much of a diet with snacks, but my mid-morning snack is an orange and my late afternoon snack is spinach (no dressing). My meals are all home cooked, no fried foods, and very modest portions. So far I’ve dropped 15# but it’s mostly showed me that my main problem has been over-eating and snacking.

This week I’m taking a break and letting myself have a bit bigger meal and opening my options to include small portions of somewhat higher calorie snacks. I read a study that said loimageng-term dieting with reduced calorie intake suffers from the fact that the body becomes attuned to the new “steady state” of food intake and will start to find ways to conserve. So, dieting benefits from a break. While I’m not going to be stupid about it, I will up the calories a bit and then get back into it next weekend.

BioShock_coverOn the gaming front I completed Bioshock, the 2007 horror survival game featuring an underwater city, a leader straight out of an Ayn Rand novel, a con man who cornered the market on genetic modifications, and you … a person trapped in the civil struggles of the city. The game is excellent and pulled me along for a good part of the last month. I put about 20 hours into getting the majority of the achievements in the game but replayed it for the last two … which require that you play on Hard mode and that you do not use the respawn points; that is, when you die, you die. But, I’m done now and really enjoyed it. I’m kicking around whether to play the second game in the series but I have enough other games that I think I’ll just pass on that for now.

So far gaming, what’s up? Well, I’m revisiting Halo 4, as I never completed the campaign and Borderlands 2 came out with a new level cap, so I’m bringing my commando character up to the new limit. Simple fun.

On the home front, yesterday Suzy and I took advantage to the relative lack of rain and headed to a plant sale conducted by the Weyerhaeuser Rhododendron Species Botanical Garden, where she picked up a bunch of plants that are now ready awaiting their new places in our backyard! After the sale, we took advantage of the free entry into the Garden and strolled around for a half hour or so. It was a quiet day and that felt good.

Today I’ll spend a bit more time in the garage, working on the cat post I’m building. I hope to have pictures later today to share on that front … let’s hope I make enough progress! But, time to get at it if I really plan on getting at it!

Thanks for dropping in.

Leave a Reply

 
