Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    April 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

Word of the week Photo Challenge: Entropy

Posted by joeabbott on April 6, 2013

EntropyThis week’s word is Entropy (for those forgetting what this is about, please see http://photochallenge.org) and I was getting pretty tired of folks posting pictures of peeling paint and rusting metal. Not that those things aren’t fine examples of entropy (def: the tendency for all matter and energy in the universe to evolve toward a state of inert uniformity), but I prefer another definition: a measure of the disorder that exists in a system.

The very definition of my desk at home and my workbench in the garage!

I very consciously try to put things away after I use them, but I have so many projects going on at any one point that things just tend to get a bit messy. Upstairs in my office, the main culprits are receipts and other stuff to file; in the garage it’s more projects to complete.

But I do get stuff done!

Just today I:

  • Replaced some rechargeable batteries in a solar lamp (I had to sand off the contacts as there was a bit of corrosion … entropy! … present)
  • Built a small perch/step for our new chickens to use to hop up to a taller roost
  • Finished carving the handle for a spatula (the old handle broke)

But, for each project I start, there seem to be a couple others that arise from it:

  • I now have another set of batteries to put away … and four more solar lanterns to investigate and repair (I want to see if I was successful on the one I fixed today but need to wait on a sunny day to see if the fix worked)
  • Suzy mentioned that instead of a single step for the chickens, she’s prefer a small “ladder” roost … allowing the hens multiple levels to roost on and the ability to get away from pecks from alpha hen wannabes
  • The handle of the spatula is carved but is now “soaking” in mineral oil to ensure it has a solid coat/finish

And so, there are a lot of things on my to-do list and the entropy in my life continues to hold at a high state.

How’s entropic is your life?

3 Responses to “Word of the week Photo Challenge: Entropy”

  1. Hey Joe, that photo speaks to me!! 🙂

    I’m much the same… I try to put things away after using them. I do have a thorough clean-up after each project but, it doesn’t last long and I’m soon unable to use my bench again. I also have several projects on the go at one time. Many lie unfinished for months and, along with all the excess ‘stock’ wood I have lying around, it all adds to the kind of clutter that puts me off heading out to the workshop sometimes.

    My bedroom’s not a lot different but, especially at this time of the year, I find it easier to spend time in here sorting through things as it’s mostly warm and dry all year round.

    • joeabbott said

      Haha! Hey, Olly! Love the posts you’ve been putting up about your walking and hikes. I should probably reply more on your site but love it. Interestingly, you pointed out a sign that had a unique construction: it had a through tenon in the post with pegs holding the sign. I’d used that very same joint in a gate I built a few years back:
      https://joeabbott.wordpress.com/2011/03/07/the-gate-project-part-4/

      And, I have to say your shop looks a lot more proper than mine: I have too many faucet parts, magnets, hinges, pulls, nuts, bolts and whatnot laying around. At least yours looks like a woodworkers shop! 🙂

      Thanks for the note and thanks for dropping in.

      • Thanks, Joe. I’m planning to do more on the walking and hiking as it happens. I enjoy it and I like the diversity it adds to my blog.

        Nice job on the gate! Details like this can make a huge difference in a world where so much is mass-produced.

        Oh, I have all of that… They’re hidden in drawers on shelves at the back of the workshop!! 😉

        Don’t worry about replies. We all lead busy lives and even keep our sites updated can become a large commitment. I’m much the same in wishing I could keep up with and comment on so many blogs.

Leave a Reply

 
