Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    March 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

Word of the week Photo Challenge: Technology

Posted by joeabbott on March 30, 2013

P3280167The word this week was “technology” and, to be completely honest, when I hear that word I still think “steam train engine” or linkages in huge metal machines. This association is probably from reading many historical science books that use that word in association with the dawning of the Industrial Age.

However, given my pastimes and vocation, I quickly flop into the world of bits and bytes and computers and the technology at our hands every day. Today’s image shows a different sort of “bite” … as in the result of me biting my phone and breaking it!

First, my phone is a reasonably constant companion when I’m outside the house; always in my pocket, ready to pull out to look a little something up, check mail, or play a round of AlphaJax (a scrabble-like game) with friends. At home it’s usually in the drawer I toss my wallet, keys, and other accouterments that accompany me as I amble about.

It was at home it broke.

I was reading a bit of mail when I wanted to pick something up from the floor that required both hands. I had a shirt pocket but I thought it might drop out as I bent over so I popped it into my mouth for a quick hold while my hands were otherwise busy. I thought I’d quickly have the phone back out. Well, when I bent over, the phone started to slip so I bit down a little harder and … *crack*.

Bummer.

Second, let’s talk about the picture.

I found it really hard to get a good shot of the break. If I used a flash in the camera, it’d wash out the background icons. If I used a lamp, the light source wasn’t diffuse enough to avoid a strong lens flare on the screen. Even now you can see a bit of one.

I ended up having to place a piece of white paper in front of the lap to diffuse the light, but also to use a flashlight to rake strongly across the glass and cause the crack to pop. And, all of this while a cat was pacing back and forth on the desk. It was a busy time.

Here are some of the other images that I didn’t choose to use:

P3280161CrackP3280165P3280166image

One Response to “Word of the week Photo Challenge: Technology”

  1. I’m sorry for your unforeseen disaster, Joe! But, I also admire your persistence in taking the perfect photo to illustrate the damage.

Leave a Reply

 
