Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    March 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « Feb   Apr »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

Word of the week Photo Challenge: Health Care

Posted by joeabbott on March 9, 2013

032The other week the word was “health care”. I think a lot of folks had problem with this topic, as I saw very few pictures posted.

Considering it, I actually think it’s a “bad” word/topic.

If we were National Geographic photographers or on-assignment journalists who could separate ourselves from the subject, it may have worked. But, for a Facebook group, it’s hard to be dispassionate about something that touches us so deeply. Often our only experiences with health care are grave matters … or too trivial to be more than a snap of a dental office.

Still, that was the word. I was uninspired until the other week when I put away my climbing gear and realized my first aid (and “immediate aid”) packs went with me on every trip, are the basis of my health care out in the mountains, and were backed by many many years of teaching first aid skills.

And so, here is my version of health care.

Leave a Reply

 
