Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    February 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « Jan   Mar »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728  
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

Word of the week Photo Challenge: Beverage

Posted by joeabbott on February 10, 2013

096I wish I were a better photographer; or at least someone who cared about being better at photography. When I was composing this shot, simple as it is, I knew there were a number of issues with it but didn’t bother to correct them.

I wanted to snap the picture on a dark, neutral surface, so our countertop was perfect; I’d even gave it a perfunctory cleaning with a nearby dish towel. But when I saw imperfections in the glass I was using, I was too lazy to grab another glass from the cupboard, being happy to just turn the glass and hope such things weren’t noticed.

Then, as I was shooting, I tried to avoid distracting things in the background, but only gave it a half-hearted effort. With a half-hearted result.

But, the color came out well, a few bubbles were caught in the image, and it leaves one wondering what it is. Could it be a sparkling cider? Perhaps a wine of some sort in an atypical glass? Nope, it’s a Monster Energy drink, their “Lo-carb” variety.

I wouldn’t call myself a big “energy drink” fan, but I have enjoyed this beverage since my nephew, David, introduced me to it some years back. And, that Costco carries it in bulk certainly doesn’t hurt: the easier to bring home by the case.

But that’s my pic of the week. Hopefully by taking shots and sharing them out I’ll continue to spot the defects and issues, and then make the necessary improvements to hone my habits in the craft of photography.

image

Leave a Reply

 
