Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    January 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

Word of the Week Photo Challenge: Minimalism

Posted by joeabbott on January 26, 2013

WP_20130126_005I’m finding out that “minimalism” is a lot of things to a lot of people. Out on the PhotoChallenge Facebook group, there are pictures of engineering projects, intricate close-ups of leaves, roads with snow and footprints, and even a jet airplane leaving contrails.

I think investing a significant part of my life into engineering with an interest in life sciences has sapped me of the ability to look at much of that without pondering deeper, far-reaching questions. Or even appreciating what’s going on.

The “best” pictures there are those with little detail and near-uniformity of color: a diffuse blur of the sun through clouds, a wan moon in the evening sky, the horizon as seen from an airplane. To me, all of those touch on minimalism but are too big for me: there are worlds out there to explore but you need to take the initiative to step out and see them.

Minimalism is a bare simplicity, and one that’s somehow personal.

And so I present a meager meal, a simple drink, and a plain table: my minimalistic photo for the week.

One Response to “Word of the Week Photo Challenge: Minimalism”

  1. momma said

    i enjoyed this photo as I’d just been reading, in Zenhabits.com about minimalism, and wondering if I could apply it to my life – a difficult concept as I do enjoy details. For example, I would have added a nice blob of HOPE butter (salted) to the little plate with the bread. And perhaps a nice slice of lemon to the glass of water. I do, however, heartily agree that the best photos – or even views out the window, are – well, I’m looking at a perfect example right now, out the window of my home office… It is snowing heartily here in Minnesota on this Sunday afternoon, and I am looking out at the ground totally covered with deep white fluff, and the east side of the trees and all the tiny branches are also covered. The fence tops and roof tops and and the occasional car going by are all laden with beautiful white snow. I wish I were a photographer and could do justice to what I see. So much white! Even the sky is white! It’s a living B&W photo! Except for the snow, coming down at a good slant, everything is very very still. Even the birds have taken shelter. I wonder how long this will go on? So lovely. Momma

Leave a Reply

 
