Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    January 2013
    M T W T F S S
    « Dec   Feb »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

Blog this: Scott’s Hut

Posted by joeabbott on January 1, 2013

imageimageAs a former U of M (that’s University of Minnesota) alumnus, I get a periodical called Inventing Tomorrow; a thin collections of articles keeping me abreast of the doings of the UM Institute of Technology (where I graduated years ago with a degree in Aerospace Engineering). One of the articles in the latest edition was on the Polar Geospatial Center teaming up with Google to create an interactive site committed to showing the Robert F. Scott Hut; that is, the base camp erected by Scott in 1911 on his bid for being the first man to set foot on the South Pole (which he lost to Amundsen, of course).

The story is interesting (the link above brings you to an online version of the entire magazine … you can find it there) but the link at the very bottom of the article is the real winner:

http://z.umn.edu/scotthut

This link takes you to the interactive site … which is fascinating! I love it!

Interested in seeing where the hut is located, I went to my trusty Bing maps and was delighted to type in “scott’s hut” and, upon hitting <return>, found myself looking at a point on the map. Unfortunately, Bing’s maps in this part of the world are miserable, and I was scrolled out quite a ways before I could make out any landform. Disappointingly, even satellite view didn’t yield a viewable image.

imageAs the picture outside the hut showed a wonderful mountain in the background (see the snipped image to the left), I went to Google maps to see if I couldn’t find it. I was delighted that upon typing “scott’s hut” in the Google map search bar, it showed “Scott’s Hut, Antarctica” as the only option… but, when I hit <return> after just having the “scott’s hut” portion in the bar, it yielded nothing … just (very oddly) told me about places I could eat around the University of Washington campus. Looks like it was searching for “scott” and “hut” and showed me anything nearby that had those terms associated with it.

Anyhow, I included “Antarctica” and found that the mountain was the 20+-miles-distant Mt Erebus, highest mountain in Antarctica (snipped image to the right).

So I tip my hat to the fine folks at the University of Minnesota for continuing my education; sending me fascinating information that leads to a bit of reading, a dollop of searching, and then putting together a few pieces for myself. I’ve seen Scott’s hut, learned that McMurdo Station was built (in the 1950s) very nearby (probably not a coincidence), and that Mt Erebus is within spitting distance! And that the tallest point on the southernmost continent is on an island off the mainland!

All new and terribly interest stuff. Thanks, U of M!

Leave a Reply

 
