Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    December 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

Thanks, Microsoft.

Posted by joeabbott on December 12, 2012

WP_20121212_005I don’t write much about my employer in this blog as a usual practice; I’m neither embarrassed nor shy … this is my home blog: a place about chickens and cats and building things and video games and the small doings of my life. There are other places to talk shop.

And yet, there are times I need to break down that artificial wall and talk a bit about Microsoft.

I’ve worked at Microsoft in a large number of roles over the many years I’ve always considered myself blessed. Yes, even in the current environment I work long hours, stay in touch during non-work hours, and consider weekends and evenings chances to catch up or get ahead on a project or two. And even then I believe the benefits are in my favor. Microsoft gives great benefits (wages as well as health insurance), I can work on really cool things that help shape peoples’ lives, and the work environment is exceptional. And now, as Microsoft transitions into a “devices and services” company, another bounty has rained upon me: a Surface.

On October 16 of this year, at the Microsoft Company Meeting, Steve Ballmer announced employees would be receiving one of our latest products: the Surface. Which, for those of you still brushing dirt from your trousers after having crawled out from under a rock, the Surface is a PC running Windows RT in a tablet form factor (read: iPad compete product). In rare departure from previous pitch-perfect form, the delivery of these devices was a bit ham-handedly handled: no one knew when they were coming (just “in December”) or how we’d get them. But, today, I got a mail informing me to signup for a delivery time and I could pick mine up from a nearby building.

Very exciting. Very fun. And thank you very much, Microsoft.

One Response to “Thanks, Microsoft.”

  1. momma said

    I liked this! Gratitude is one of the most underrated and important qualities in the world. In fact, whenever something “bad” comes into my life, I try to think of just one thing for which I’m grateful, and after focusing on that for a bit, amazingly, the “bad” thing loses a lot of its sting. Very strange, but it works. I highly recommend it!
    Momma

Leave a Reply

 
