Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    December 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

Where has Joe been?

Posted by joeabbott on December 8, 2012

untitledIn short: taking a break.

I live a charmed life, one in which I have few wants (trick here: be happy with what you have), I’m surrounded by people who support me, and I’m happy. It’s a good life.

And yet, in all the vast riches and rewards that come from the above-mentioned charmed life, I find I need a bit of “me time”; me time that involves just reading, playing games, and enjoying my routine obligations surrounding cats, chickens, and work. It’s a bit petulant to pule about birthday celebrations, family visits, vacation time, preparing for the holidays, and time with the extended family … but I needed a break and took it out of my blog time.

But, that doesn’t mean I’ve been idle!

My last two blog entries covered the bookends on my silence: my sister’s and her husband’s visit (and all the great things we did) and completing LEGO Lord of the Rings. So, what else have I been up to? Just wait and see but, as a teaser, we spent the weekend after Thanksgiving decorating the house for the holidays, visited some local displays, enjoyed a meal at a gourmet restaurant (as well as having a Hobbit Breakfast at Denny’s), and I’m still playing more Xbox games.

So, expect some updates soon, know that we’ve been busy, and above everything else, I’m baaack!

One Response to “Where has Joe been?”

  1. momma said

    Nice to have you back again, Joe, and it sounds like the break you took was very advantageous for you. Great! We had a nice big snowfall here in Minnesota last night – still coming down a bit – and on a chance I checked in on your Blog, for some early morning pleasure, and was glad to find you here. Yes, happiness does rest on our being grateful for what we have. I am constantly feeling pleasure as I tend to my house, room by room, and enjoy the rest of my activities – and am so glad to have you and the other siblings in my life, to keep me in the loop! Momma

Leave a Reply

 
