Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    September 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Aug   Oct »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

When done doesn’t mean something is over

Posted by joeabbott on September 9, 2012

image

What seems like a short while ago, I set my sights on hitting a 50k Gamerscore. Journey complete.

I got to 49K a few weeks back and, at that time, decided I was only going to play games I liked, Unfortunately for me, one game I liked was Borderlands … but I had got nearly all of the achievements in that I was going to get.

Then there was my fascination at all things Lord of the Rings … and so I played a game called Lord of the Rings, War in the North. I was really enjoying it until the game repeatedly froze on me. I was able to get around the first freezing issue by changing characters but, then it froze again. Ugh. So, I’ll restart the game and play more, but it was clear I wouldn’t be getting my achievements (any time soon) from that game.

Then I enjoy Skyrim … but, of the two DLCs, the first only gave me 50 GS and the second 250 GS. I’ll be playing both DLCs and enjoying it but, like the LotR game, I wouldn’t be hitting my goal with that game.

And so, enter Night at the Museum, the movie-inspired game that my friend X509Cert loaned me. I decided today was the day.

I went about doing my chores: mowed and trim the yard, pulled a few weeds, cleaned up the garage, put away our portable air conditioner, cleaned up my hiking gear, and put away my tents. Time for some gaming.

I popped in NatM and have actually been enjoying it … so I guess it makes the cut for only playing games I enjoy.

Well, here’s to 50,000 Gamerscore, an achievement in and of itself, and playing games. And now … now, I’ll get back to it. As you can see, I’m only half done with the game!

Leave a Reply

 
