Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    August 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

What have I done?!

Posted by joeabbott on August 26, 2012

imageI wrote earlier about my push to get to 50,000GS … not a life’s goal, not a “do it while ignoring all else” sorta goal; just a score I wished to achieve. On the way I played a bunch of games that I otherwise likely wouldn’t have. Let’s see … in that category are:

Most of these fall into the “B-title” category … games that were of modest success, low-budget games, or movie tie-ins. I got most through a “game library” at work … old titles people rarely/never play anymore and have brought in for others to enjoy. And a few others were loaned to me by individuals who knew I was gunning for Gamerscore.

Some I enjoyed quite a bit, but that’s not a statement that can be applied to all: there are a lot of stinkers in that list, too! I’d toss most of the games into the “I had fun playing them” list, but I didn’t like Fight Night Round 3 at all, Truth or Lies was a huge waste of time, and the NHL\NBA games held no interest for me once I’d spent the hour it took to drain them both of achievements. I suppose the games I most enjoyed were the Sherlock Holmes (real history with a mystery) and Spider-man (simple sidescroller) titles. They weren’t great but did a fine job for a game I played for free.

The balance were in that middle ground of good but not something you’d replay. I haven’t finished the Legends of the Guardians game yet, but I will … I’m just not in a big hurry. A lot of the achievements and puzzles involve “speed” tests … something I’m patently (not good at and) uninterested in doing.

I also have a bunch of other games in my “recently completed list” that don’t quite align with my true game preference (D&D-style role playing games), but I had either started those without concern for Gamerscore (most Kinect titles … which I have for my nieces and nephews) or was just trying my hand at a different sort of game (Windows Phone games, Sudoku, Minecraft).

So, on the way to my Gamerscore goal I had a chance to play a bunch of games … they were fun and all but, as most were forgettable, I’m stuck with the notion that I’ve traded a bunch of time for Gamerscore. Perhaps not the best of trades. After I get my 50k, I think I’ll focus on games I really enjoy and little else. Now that sounds like the goal I should have had all along.

Leave a Reply

 
