Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    August 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

Gaming Goals and Heroes

Posted by joeabbott on August 25, 2012

Well, it’s the end of summer and I’m nearing my gaming “goal”: 50,000 GS. GS is Gamerscore, a vanity number that generally reflects how many games you’ve played and, more specifically, how many achievements you’ve netted. It’s a number tracked on the Xbox 360 gaming system but PS3 has a similar mechanism (“Trophies”) and even WoW (World of Warcraft) is starting to track in-game activities and awarding points (Gamerscore) for gamers who accomplish different tasks or complete quests.

imageMy current Gamerscore is 49,400 … just a bit more and I’ll be “done”. Where “done” in this case means that I can get back to woodworking or at least helping out more around the house.

imageI started my run to 50,000 sometime last year … I have a couple friends, Zulghinlour and X509Cert (Xbox Gamertags), who are both far better gamers than I am and spend more time at the console playing games. Or the Windows phone. Zulghinlour is a coworker and real-world friend of mine … we went hiking last weekend and I blogged about it earlier! He has a Gamerscore of 194,825 … yup, just about 4x my score! And X509Cert is another coworker but we’ve never met … I read a book he wrote on security and replied to him on a work forum dedicated to Xbox social discussion. X509Cert just cracked 100k and is sitting at 102,738.

I have to admit, it was X509Cert who most “inspired” me to make my run at 50,000. Around the time we started chatting, X509Cert and I had Gamerscores in the same ballpark, but he shot off in an incredible surge, eclipsing anything I could do. And then he was giving me tips and even mailed me a few games! It’s sometimes hard to remember that he and I have never met, although we have played some Rage in co-op and exchanged a bunch of messages online or in email. Whenever we’ve talked or shared news, game tips, or played online together, he’s been positive and supportive … just a great guy.

But, he’s going crazy playing games! Let’s take a look at X509Cert’s progress vs. mine:

imageimage

imageAs you can see, as I am approaching 50,000 I started putting a bit more time into it! And yet, X509Cert is consistently wracking up more GS. While we can compare, there’s really no competition … it’s all in how you have fun and what you want to do. When I got to 35,000 GS and saw Zulghinlour’s massive GS and watched X509Cert run … well, I thought I could play that game, too!

However, I’m not sure when I’ll actually hit my goal. Could be this weekend but probably not (Anniversary this weekend), not next … I’ll be out of town. Maybe sometime thereafter? Who knows.

You see, it is the end of summer and that means we have some nice weather left (time for hiking!), I have an anniversary with the missus (time for spending time with her!), and any number of other activities that aren’t upstairs, in a room with a console, grinding out achievements. Don’t get me wrong, my next post will be on all the games I have lined up, but I have other stuff lined up, too.

And so on that comment, “I have other stuff lined up, too”, it seems like a good place to end this post. I hope you have lots of stuff going on, too. Thanks for dropping in!

Leave a Reply

 
