Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    August 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

My nephew is better than your nephew

Posted by joeabbott on August 22, 2012

imageI enjoy a good Xbox 360 video game as much as (and likely more than) most of the next guys. It’s a little something I have in common with my nephew, David. He enjoys shooters on the order of Modern Warfare, Saint’s Row, and Call of Duty; I enjoy RPGs like Skyrim, Mass Effect, and Assassin’s Creed. However, we occasionally enjoy the same games and it’s fun to talk shop. One surprise for me was when I found David enjoying Minecraft. And not just enjoying it, but completely owning it!

I play Xbox games to net “achievements” … we’ve talked about this before … and I typically enjoy getting all the achievements possible in a given title. I got Minecraft as a fun little diversion and, as usual, started working against the achievement list. The problem came when I had to start investing time into the game. Time to mine metals and smith tools; time to milk cows, save the milk, and bake cakes. Time to do all the things that would get you the arcane achievements in the title … but I just wasn’t enjoying the game that much.

Enter David.

David played the game and played a lot. That said, I didn’t realize how much he played until he asked me to enter his “world” so he could help me with the final few achievements in my list.

I entered and was blown away.

image

imageFor those in the unawares, Minecraft can best be thought of as a digital Lego™ world. You have basic building blocks and you can stack them together to create castles, hills, statues, and whole virtual kingdoms. Which is exactly what David had done.

When entering his world I saw massive buildings and towers, a vast fountain that flowed with lava, streams and lakes and hidden rooms containing impossibly vast riches. He had pens of pet wolves, a mine car and tracks that stretched the breadth of his kingdom, and buildings in the shape of sheep which had water flowing from the sheep’s mouth.

Astonishing.

And, down a small stairway in a corner room with a self-opening door surrounded by torches stood a small chest. The sign next to the chest said, “For Joe”. And in the chest was all the ingredients and components I needed to build, create, or make the various breads and cakes and dispensers and nether portals. He also had a saddle so I could ride a pig, he let me ride his mine cart for an achievement, and then, after all that, he entered my world and helped me find and befriend a wolf for my final achievement.

And so I say without reservation, my nephew is better than your nephew! Thank you, David! Another game 100% completed! Woo hoo!

Leave a Reply

 
