Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    August 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Jul   Sep »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

Now that’s a flower

Posted by joeabbott on August 4, 2012

My wife, Suzanne, has kept a large and varied garden for years and different growing things have caught my eye. We have an awesome crop of tulips, she’s given over half her herb box for lilies, and the wealth of shades and shapes make sitting in the backyard a joy.

P1050089P1020488P1030085

I, too, have influenced what we have growing. I remember the joy of pinching a snap dragon many years ago, and we now have a colorful swatch of these flowers off one side of the deck; my grandmother grew a bleeding heart plant and so we have both a pink and a white one; and then there’s the dahlias.

A couple years back I walked past a coworkers office and saw an impossibly massive, perfect bloom coming from a vase on her desk. I’d never spoken to her but asked about it; nonchalantly she introduced me to the dahlia and I was amazed. I’m sure I’d seen them before but this flower was HUGE, symmetrical, with hundreds of tightly packed petals … I believe it was the pompon variety or maybe the ball type. Regardless, that was a flower: as big as your hand, a substantial bloom that held up to the touching, and a pure, perfect color. As I said, that was a flower.

And so later in the year, while Suzanne and I were enjoying our annual trip to one of the local fairs in late summer (The Puyallup Fair), we spotted a display of them in some 4H or garden exposition hall and she took notes. I’m not sure if she bought some then or if she picked her bulbs up at the Northwest Flower and Garden show, but she got them, she grew ‘em … and I took a few pictures! So let me share a new addition to my list of “favorite things”:

P1000935P1000941P1000948P1000949P1000847P1000846

Leave a Reply

 
