Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    June 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

First world problems

Posted by joeabbott on June 3, 2012

358v9q.jpgA popular Internet meme is titled “First World Problems”. The picture shows a distraught woman who bemoans a problem that could only be considered a problem for those to have too much food and drink, too much money, and way too much time on their hands. Or, as the Know Your Meme site says:

"First World Problems" are frustrations and complaints that are only experienced by privileged individuals in wealthy countries. It is typically used as a tongue-in-cheek comedic device to make light of trivial inconveniences.

Isn’t that what I said? In addition to the example to the right, other “First World Problems” include:

  • Windshield wipers are too slow; the next setting is too fast.
  • There’s a bubble in my iPhone 4S screen protector.
  • I want cookies; but I don’t want to wait on them to bake.
  • Ran out of bottled water; have to drink from the tap.

I bring this up because I felt like carping a bit over some minor issues that have plagued me recently and I had to chuckle at what a pampered fop I’ve become. So, rather than indulging in some first world pathos of my own, I’ll just share a few things that have been going on in my life.

imageNew Router

When we moved Suzanne’s computer into the new addition, her Internet access dropped to a sketchy 5-6mbs and would drop; previously she was running on the wireless network in our home and got ~17mbs. I’m hardwired in and get 30mbs. So, I was going to get a “repeater”. I’d done only minor legwork on repeaters and was mostly going off a successful installation my brother-in-law, Jim, had going in his house.

Upon talking to the clerk at Fry’s about my options, I realized that repeaters were nearly the cost of a new router and considered my home unit is already a few years old. Not ancient, but in computer terms, pretty old. Additionally, in talking to a coworker (and following up with a bit on online research), I found if I got a new router and it wasn’t perfect, I could use my current router as a repeater.

Anyhow, I got the new router (a Netgear N600 WNDR3800 model) home, installed it, change the factory settings from the defaults to my current SSID and password, and everything just worked!! I’m not sure what magic happens under the covers but our phones, portables, and her Mac just picked up the new router and everything is working great. Suzy is back up to her 17mbs in the new office and I just have to tidy up a few wires and find a new home for the old router.

Lego Lord of the Rings

imageI’m a pretty big Lord of the Rings (LotR) fan. I’ve read the books, bought books on the books, have audio versions of the books, and have seen (and own) the movies. Yup, big old Tolkien nerd.

A few weeks back a video game site I frequent had a snippet suggesting Traveler Tales Games were preparing to release a Lego Lord of the Rings video game later this year. While I was looking for more information on the video game (I’m not sure when it will release but I’d bet it will be in conjunction with the upcoming Hobbit movie – which will be in December 2012), I did bump into the Lego site’s Lord of the Rings pages! That is, nothing to do with video games, but actual Lego bricks based on the LotR world!

I was preparing to pick up a few sets, add a few more to wish lists, and generally get them through some means or another. Then, I decided to throw fiscal caution to the wind and just get a few boxes and have them sent to me. Right there and then. Not my typical MO, but I jumped and within a few days they showed up.

Unfortunately, a couple of the boxes had been crushed in transit.

I was a bit mopey as I do collect these things more than just build the sets, and so I looked at my options. Happily, we have a couple Lego Stores here in the Seattle area and they were willing to exchange the the sets for pristine boxes! Whoo yah!

So now I have my LotR Lego sets but I don’t have any place to really put them. They’re currently in their boxes and on the shelf in my office piles on some old software boxes (remember when software came in a box?), some audio discs, and a couple games. As I look at the boxes, I have to smile seeing the LotR movie soundtracks, an EA Game called Battle for Middle-earth, and an old Sierra game called War of the Ring.

Coda

I could go on with a few other minutia I’ve been caught up in: just finished an old 2005 King Kong video game … don’t recommend it, had to fix the automatic door on the chicken coop … again, and working on transferring data from my old computer to the new Drobo I setup. But, all of that is just grinding through the day. My next project will be tackling the huge mess that’s become my office. But, that’s my day.

Thanks for checking in!

Leave a Reply

 
