Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    May 2012
    M T W T F S S
    « Apr   Jun »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

Backup a second

Posted by joeabbott on May 6, 2012

imageI’ve been working on or with computers a long time and have always backed up my data somehow. Usually to a disc, sometimes to “the cloud”, and other times sharing the data with a second computer. My “cloud” options are sometimes SkyDrive but I also use services like Flickr (for my images). A while back a friend told me about a system called Drobo, which is a RAID-like hard drive system.

RAID stands for Redundant Array of Inexpensive Independent Disks (I think) and is a system that uses multiple, separate hard drives but stores data to them as if they were a single physical unit. Data written to the device is shared across the drives in such a way as to provide a copy in the event one of the drives fails. The more “independent disks”, the safer the data saved to it.

While I liked the Drobo system (I’m old school enough to like having my backups local and not dependent on upload/download speeds), they were too expensive for me to just purchase. A friend of mine had one and loved it, so the system was definitely on my list of purchases once need hit or I became a bit looser with my pennies. Well, a better scenario occurred: Amazon.com dropped their price by nearly $100! It was still expensive, but I was motivated to pick up the system, complete with two 1.5TB drives. While I should definitely get a third drive to help make my data that much more secure, I have a good start and can begin to consolidate my backups from all those CDs, DVDs, thumb drives, and even the pictures I’ve copied up to Flickr.

One of the things I’d wanted to do with the backup system was to make it available to both Suzanne’s Mac and my PC. While it’s possible, I believe I need an independent machine to act as a server on our home network and that may be a sticking point. But, it gives me a little something to look into.

While I start the long process of backing up my systems, I hope you have a backup plan yourself!

Leave a Reply

 
