Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    December 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Nov   Jan »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

Why me?

Posted by joeabbott on December 17, 2011

I’m not a big “why me?” sorta guy: enough good things happen to me that the “challenges” all seem to be footnotes on a charmed life. Well, karma has come a’callin’ and while I’m not sitting in the corner with my chin in my hands, I am asking myself if the winds of change have taken a turn intended for someone else.

The latest woe was car troubles that left us stranded on the Interstate late last night. Wait, that was the second to last trouble … the last would have to have been the $400+ towing bill. Oy.

But, with an attitude that begs to see the bright side, I will echo Suzy’s comments and admit that it wasn’t raining, the temperatures were above where they had been, our tow truck driver (Harold) made the trip comfortable (if not a little pleasant), and aside from inconvenience (and a heckuva bill), we’re warm, safe, and fed.

But, I am looking forward to the coming week: I have 3 days of work before getting the rest of the year off, Suzy and I have the best of our holiday traditions to look forward to, and I have a house full of fun projects and entertaining diversions. So, in the grand scheme of things when I start to consider “why me”, I can only conclude that it’s because I’m lucky.

2 Responses to “Why me?”

  1. You are lucky, Joe! The company I work for won’t let us have ANY time off in the final week before the Christmas break!! Then again, last year, in a different job, I had to work Christmas Eve, Boxing Day, New Year’s Eve and New Year’s Day as if they were regular working days… Things could always be worse! 🙂

    Have a good Christmas.

  2. joeabbott said

    Hey, Olly … long time; good to hear from you!

    I’m not sure what the holiday policies are in the UK but I thought you folks across the water had rather lavish time-off policies. A lot of major US companies give their employees on the order of 12 paid days off thoughtout the year if you’re working full-time. My company gives us Christmas Eve and Christmas Daya off this year (or the working days closest to those days), but also give us the first working day of the New Year off, too.

    I happen to have some unused vacation time that I’m lumping into the mix which gives me the long upcoming holiday.

    So, while I may have an enviable work-week coming up, I’m suspecting your “new” van hasn’t left you stranded 30 miles from home at 10 PM in the evening on a Friday night. Or, at least I hope not!

    Thanks for the note and have a happy holidays!

    Joe

Leave a Reply

 
