Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    November 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Oct   Dec »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

Blog this: SeatGuru

Posted by joeabbott on November 5, 2011

imageSome of the “blog this” entries are tools I use all the time (like Faststone Capture … which, technically wasn’t posted under a “blog this” title) but today’s blog this is one that promises usefulness over being something I regularly reference: meet SeatGuru.

imageLike other people, getting the right seat on a plane can often make or break a trip. My preferences are probably pretty similar to what others like (or dislike): I want to avoid the middle seat (decreases chances of sitting next to chatty granny or some overweight chap with questionable hygiene and diet), I will take the window, but prefer the aisle (I have bigger shoulders and it allows me to lean … and only occasionally am I rammed by the service cart).

imageSo, a site like SeatGuru holds the promise of a better experience.

When you enter the site, you either type in a specific flight you’re scheduled on (both airline and flight number are required) or you can choose a date, airline and departure/destination airports. From there the site will give you the relevant information about the trip in terms of legs … non-stop flights it will go directly to a map of the airplane, indicating preferred seats and other issues, like those with a monitor/TV above them.

In addition, the site has information about specific airplanes including amenities on the plane, seat pitch (distance from seat to seat), and even has a “Comparison chart’ that has general information about all airlines and how they stack up against one another (or themselves!

image

While it could do better in the area of search, I’d likely only want to search at a time like this: when I’m poking about. When I use the site for a purpose, I’ll be far more directed and won’t need a search feature.

Anyhow, that’s my blog this for today: just a simple site that provides great information and is locked into my “favorites” cache for use when I’m planning my next trip home.

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

 
