Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    October 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Sep   Nov »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

Blog this: British Wildlife Photography Awards

Posted by joeabbott on October 1, 2011

imageThis is a lightweight entry … just something that caught my fancy that I liked: it’s the BWPA site.

imageI forget where I saw a link to this site but it immediately caught my eye. I do a lot of hiking and spend time outdoors, my youth was invariably spent wandering the wetland fields behind our house in Minnesota, so I like wildlife and animals, scenery and vistas. Given that, it’s hard to go wrong with a site dedicated to showing some best-of pictures!

Right now they’re showcasing their 2011 competition winners and they’re wonderful photos. I sort of think of England as a bland Seattle with older architecture and more history but, in truth, I’ve never been there. Yes, something I must rectify. Anyhow, the pictures show a varied and truly colorful side of England I never suspected.

While clicking through the different images, I was taken by the exceptional colors. Yes, I understand that filters and post-processing can augment even the most drab photograph; regardless, I’m enjoying the pictures. If the artistry is in the individual behind the lens, rather than in the outdoors/animal itself, then so be it. They’re just nice to look at.

And, beyond color, the composition is fun, too! Just look at Champagne Starling to the right in which the birds have taken flight in all directions! Looks like the tree canopy is exploding! Or, consider the image, A Gannet Trying to Land in High Wind by Wendy Ball … a lot of symmetry creates a funny picture.

imageThe site has issued awards in the following areas:

  • Animal Portraits
  • Animal Behaviour
  • Urban Wildlife
  • Hidden Britain
  • Coast and Marine
  • Wildlife in my Backyard
  • Habitat
  • British Seasons
  • Living Landscape: Connectivity
  • Documentary Series
  • Wildlife on Video (video available)
  • Young Photographers

It’s hard to pick a favourite (see what I did there? <g>) but if pressed, I sure enjoyed the pictures in the Habitat category.

But, this was just another site that I stumbled upon in my day-to-day life on the web and I thought I’d share. Hope you get some enjoyment from it, too!


Let’s be clear: all images here are the copyright of the owner … I’m not sure if that’s the BWPA or the photographer. All images here lifted from the British Wildlife Photography Awards website and are included here without permission. I’m not trying to steal or profit from their duplication; I just think it’s lovely work and wish to call attention to it.

2 Responses to “Blog this: British Wildlife Photography Awards”

  1. Momma said

    Truly beautiful photos. How do I get in there to see more of them?

    • joeabbott said

      Just click on the link included at the bottom: British Wildlife Photography Awards (http://www.bwpawards.org)!

      I can see that I stumbled a bit on this one … word choice was a bit off and I didn’t introduce the site well. Sorry for the confusion!

Leave a Reply

 
