Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    July 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

Piperoids!

Posted by joeabbott on July 30, 2011

My mother still sends me toys.

imageYup, I’m approaching 50, haven’t lived home (as in “the state of MN”) in well over 20 years, but each Christmas and birthday I can expect a package that will contain at least one little gift that’s a toy or some creative, fun diversion. I guess when you raise a son, you know him well.

These days she’s increasingly getting me ultra-cool stuff. Most are simple things that have an elegance defying their size or price. Such was the “stocking stuffer” she gave me a few years back: Piperoids!

Piperoids come in a simple, long, thin envelope that looks like a package of paper straws. The peek-a-boo window let’s you see them and you might pick out that a few of the straws have holes bored through them. I’m not sure why but I was enchanted. So enchanted, that I just kept the opened package around knowing that once I started cutting them apart to build the robot models, their simple elegance would be lost. Silly, I know.

But, just a few weeks back I put my model of Rob & Skip together.

imageThe instructions are fun and easy to understand, full of lots of simple images:

image

image

image

 

 

 

Each pipe is cut into segments of various lengths, which are then inserted through the holes I noted earlier, crimped into feet, or nested into the end of another pipe. In all, they’re engaging to see come together and the “robot” you end up with will have movable/posable parts.

Here’s a few images of Skip coming together:

image

image

imageimageimageimageimage

image

So that’s Rob and Skip Piperoids. I found a YouTube video of someone putting together a Piperoid model if you want to watch … they speed up the assembly so you’re not watching real-time! You can also find out more about Piperoids by visiting the creator’s site here!

As always, I owe a debt of gratitude to my mother for allowing me the simple pleasure of having a little fun. Thanks, Mom!

Leave a Reply

 
