Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    July 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Jun   Aug »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

Blog this: Ponoko.com

Posted by joeabbott on July 4, 2011

At one time I had so many cat cartoons that I started a separate site for them; now, I’m getting lots of “blog this” posts! OK, maybe not so many that I need to create a new sub-site, but I posted yesterday and I have a lot more in the queue, so be ready for more!

In case you haven’t been reading, I’ll sometimes find little nuggets of information on the ‘Net and mail myself the URL with the note to “blog this”. Sometimes the information is something I use and love (see my entry on the Faststone Capture tool), and sometimes it’s something I know nothing about yet think is terribly interesting: like today’s item, Ponoko!

Ponoko

I first read about Ponoko.com in a Make magazine, but they were so into 3D printing that I skimmed over it and read on. All of the stuff in Make is cool, but some is just beyond me. Anyhow, I bumped into Ponoko again … this time, when I was reading about a woodworking project!

The deal is that if you want to create something but lack the skill to build it in real life and yet can create a computer model of it and then upload that model to Ponoko and they’ll build it for you!

The site outlines a simple five step process:

  1. imageDesign it
  2. Upload it
  3. Choose it
  4. Make it
  5. Ship it

and that’s it!

imageIn the Design it step, you can create your own model or use one of the apps they’re encouraging individuals to build. An example of an existing app is Magic Box, which is a program that leads you through a template, allowing you to configure the size or shape of your object. For example, you might want to create a box: you’ll specify the height, width, and depth and then “print” them through Ponoko. You get custom boxes for your exact needs.

In the five steps noted above, the Upload it step assumes you’re going to build your own model, whereupon you’ll need to upload the model to Ponoko. You then Choose it by selecting the materials and finishes you wish to use.

The Make it  step gives you pricing for your options and commits you to having the model built. And finally the Ship it step brings the model to your door for assembly.

Admittedly, there’s a lot here I just don’t know and done have first-hand experience with it, but I like the promise of something like Ponoko. I like it a lot.

While I haven’t used it yet, I know I will. And if you’ve used Ponoko, I’d love to hear about it! This is too cool not to talk about!

Leave a Reply

 
