Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    June 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

Space, the final frontier

Posted by joeabbott on June 22, 2011

Flickr-logowordpress-iconWhen I first signed up for a WordPress blog site, I was given 3 GB of space. It’s the standard allotment.

As I also had a Flickr site, which has an unlimited space allotment, I would religiously post pictures to Flickr and then, in the blog, link to the posted images. I did this to avoid “running out of space” on my WordPress blog. It was a bit tedious, but it felt safe.

From time to time, I’d post an image, worry, check the size remaining, and was always surprised that it didn’t eat up more space up on WordPress than I thought I would.

Windows_Live_Writer_logoAnd then came Live Writer.

I really enjoy Live Writer … web apps are cool, but slower, have fewer features, and seem to have some innate fragility that you get when a stateless system attempts to mimic state. In a few years they’ll get this right, even now the quality is vastly superior to even second generation web apps … but, for now: Live Writer.

Live Writer let’s me save drafts (something I don’t do as often as I should), pull down posted entries for updating, supports multiple sites, and dropping images into entries and working with them is snappy. Which brings me back to that space issue I started this entry with.

By being easier to work with images, I found myself posting more and more; Live Writer would upload the images to WordPress and take care of the behind-the-scenes details. Lovely. But, I worried about space.

imageSo, here I am, a year and then some from when I started using Live Writer, I’ve posted entries with some 1300+ images … and I’ve used 227.1 MB of space, or less than 8% of my allotted total.

And this is about as perfect an example as I can find for why I don’t usually worry: it almost always amounts to nothing (or nothing you can do something about). So, for now … time to stop fretting about this and get on with posting!

Leave a Reply

 
