Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    June 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « May   Jul »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

Just where have you been?

Posted by joeabbott on June 9, 2011

imageOK, I tried to pull the track data off my GPS but I’m having some problems.

I’m not sure what went wrong, but clearly I had data corruption of some sort.

I hadn’t had my GPS on for some time … since April or so. Over the past weekend I used the GPS sparingly on the way into our Summer Land camp, then left it off while we climbed the mountain, but turned it on after we climbed Goat Island Mountain and allowed it to track me out.

Well, when I pulled the data off, I had all sorts of crazy lines, tracks and data on the map! I couldn’t make heads or tails of it.

Over the last couple nights I’ve worked on this and can only conclude that the data from everything before the Goat Island Mountain climb is bad, but having a chance to sync with satellites up high got it working well again.

Because that’s the odd part … most of the data looks wrong but the one track from the mountain out to the car looks PERFECT!

Yes, it shows that I didn’t really summit, it shows that our camp wasn’t truly at the Summer Land high point, and it’s spot on with what I recall in nearly every other way.

OK, so I have two mapping programs: National Geographic Topo! and Garmin MapSource.

Now, I prefer Topo!, but my version of the product is ten years old and doesn’t work with a GPS device connected via a USB port … yup, still looking at my COM ports! As such, it won’t work with my GPS, but the maps are far more accurate and it’s just an all-around better product. Yes, even at 10 years old.

The MapSource product I have is also old … but only four years old. Even newer, it’s a bit of a rookie tool but it works perfectly with my GPS. No small wonder as they’re both Garmin products.

Where am I going with this?

Well, I’m trying to find a way to pull the data from the GPS into the MapSource tool, then save the data in a way my Topo! program can use, and then work with Topo! to map and analyze the route information! I still have to work through that but, bottom line, I’m on the way!

Stay tuned as I continue to play with this stuff and thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

 
