Joe Abbott's Weblog

Letters home to mom

  • Stuff posted on these days

    April 2011
    M T W T F S S
    « Mar   May »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    252627282930  
  • Meta

  • Joe Abbott Musings

  • RSS Cat Cartoon w/o the Cartoon

    • Coda
      Posting these cat-cartoons-without-the-cartoon was a long journey that I don’t know if I’ll repeat soon again. A daily blog is tough … even when you have your material handed to you! But, I couldn’t have done it without the artwork … Continue reading →
    • December 31, 2011
      Father Time is riding out his last few minutes of being the temporal keeper for 2011; he sits in an easy chair with a calendar showing “Dec 31” behind him and a grandfather clock pointing to the time of 11:53. … Continue reading →
    • December 30, 2011
      A happy young lady shares a table at a tony restaurant with her cat; they both wear festive, cone-shaped party hats. The woman gaily says to the tuxedoed server, “One martini and one glass of milk.” The cat does not … Continue reading →

Too many cat cartoons?

Posted by joeabbott on April 3, 2011

I’d recently went into my blog to look something up that I posted a while back and found it hard to find. I didn’t use the search function but intended on scrolling through the previous posts … but it seemed all I came across were the daily Cat Cartoon entries!

Now, I still enjoy the experiment and easily have legs to carry the daily cat cartoon blog entries through the year, but I was surprised at how much clutter they add to my blog.

So, when I get bugged, what do I do? Well, I resolve the problem!

I have a plan and have started taking steps.

First, I reserved the blog CatCartoon here on WordPress. I haven’t done anything with it, but I’ve reserved it for future use. Secondly, I noticed that I have a sidebar “widget” that reflects the latest Flickr image that I’ve posted. My thought is to create a similar system for the cat cartoons: post the daily cartoon out on CatCartoon but just reflect it into a view on my blog! This would allow the daily posting of the cartoon without taking up so much real estate in my historical entries. And it would preserve the cartoons for the future.

I looked for a widget that would do this but nothing popped … so, Monday I’ll contact the WordPress folks and see if they can assist me. If nothing exists, I’ll see if I can’t use RSS or even write my own widget (how hard can it be?).

So, if you know a way to do what I want to do (reflect a daily blog entry from one site into a sidebar widget on my main site), please drop me a line!

Thanks always for your time.

One Response to “Too many cat cartoons?”

  1. Momma said

    I’m starting a Save The Cat Cartoons drive! On a bad day, your wonderful version of the Cat Cartoon is a real bright spot! 🙂 (but I won’t mind if I have to look elsewhere for it…)
    Momma

Leave a Reply

 
